Skip to main content

Full text of "Erie Cemetery: A Hand Book, Historical, Biographical and Descriptive, Containing Also the ..."

See other formats


This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 



GIFT OF 

THE FRIENDS 

OF THE 

FRANCES LOEB 

LIBRARY 






HARVARD GRADUATE 
SCHOOL OF DESIGN 



#, I 



:?•-• 





HniKtKt^U. 



: I 





HAND Boo 



HISTORICAL 

BIOGRAPHICAL 

DESCRIPTIVE. 



1 



I 



ERIE CEMETERY 

A HAND BOOK 

HISTORICAL 
BIOGRAPHICAL 

AND 

DESCRIPTIVE 

CONTAINING ALSO THE 

Charter and Laws, Rules and Regulations, and other 
Matters of General Information 



Written and published by authority of and under direction of the 
Corporators 



1903. 



ERIE. PA.: 

Hbrali) Printing and Publishtng Co. 

1903. 



HARVARD UNIVERSITV: 



NOV 5 1985 -j 

Frances Loeb Library ^ 

Graduate School of Design 









I-"" 



MANAGERS ERIE CEMETERY. 



D, S. CLARK. GEORGE P. COLT. 

CHAS. C. SHIRK. WILLIAM SPENCER. 

M. GRISWOLD, FRANK GUNNISON. 

L. M. LITTLE. 



OFFICERS. 

President D. S. CLARK. 

Secretary P. A. HIMROD. 

Treasurer J. L. STERNBERG. 

Superintendent MRS. E. E. HAY. 



CORPORATORS MAY 13, 1902. 



D. S. CLARK. 
HEMAN JANES. 
C. M. REED. 
WM. HIMROD. 
CHAS. C. SHIRK. 
GEO. P. COLT. 
M. R. BARR. 
WM. W. REED. 
JAMES SILL. 

S. J. M'KNIGHT. 

E. L. WARNER. 
WILLIAM SPENCER. 

F. GUNNISON. 
HENRY SHENK. 
GEO. D. SELDEN. 

H.J. 



M. GRISWOLD. 
CHAS. H. STRONG. 
S. A. DAVENPORT. 
CLARK OLDS. 
JOHN W. GALBRAITH 
L. M. LITTLE. 
WM. HARDWICK. 
JOHN S. RILLING. 
C. J. BROWN. 
F. BREVILLIER. 
JOHN J. EVANS. 
F. H. SCHUTTE. 
GEO. R. METCALF. 
P. A. HIMROD. 
E. L. WHITTELSEY. 
CURTZE. 









HISTORJCAL 
BIOGRAPHICAL 
DESCRIPTIVE. 



10 ERIE CEMETERT. 



THE BURIAL PLACES OF OLD ERIE. 



In connection with sepulture in Erie in the earlier part of its 
existence, especially as bearing on the old burying grounds, 
which are in their proper place adverted to, it must be remem- 
bered that there were circumstances connected with the settle- 
ment of Erie which in Europe would have placed it in the 
category of a walled or fortified town. Indeed, its very first 
settlement was as a collection of homes of those connected with a 
military occupation of its site, and the erection of a fort by an 
army of King Louis XV. in the execution of his gigantic con- 
tinental policy, embodying the connection of Canada, then in the 
possession of the French, by a chain of forts extending from Lake 
Ontario along the south shore of Lake Erie to what is now the 
city of Erie, and thence by a well constructed road from Erie to 
Fort LeBoeuf, now Waterford, continuing down French Creek to 
the Allegheny River and Fort Duquesne, now Pittsburg, and by 
the Ohio and Mississippi rivers to the Louisiana territory, con- 
necting Canada with the island of Orleans, then one of the 
principal footholds of the French king in his attempted subjuga- 
tion of the North American continent. This well laid plan was 
thought to have been carried out when a French army of 1,200 
men in 1753, erected Fort Presque Isle, at Second and Parade 
streets, and completed the roadway which led almost directly 
south to the present location of Waterford. 

This military occupation, though interrupted for a while by 
the capture of the forts by the confederated savages, was resumed 
and continued by the British after their successes over the 
French, and again by the military forces of Pennsylvania about 
the time of the return of Gen. Wayne from his successful cam- 
paign in the west, at which time a blockhouse was erected and 
military protection was afforded to the surveyors, who, by 
authority of the commonwealth at the dawn of the century, pro- 
ceeded to lay out the town of Erie on the plan upon which it was 
settled. These movements were followed by the occupation of 



ERIE CEMETERY. H 



Erie by the armed forces of the United States, that in the War of 
1812-13, in conjunction with the naval forces, after a navy yard 
had been established at Erie in 181 2, effected the destruction of 
the British fleet in the great naval battle of Sept. 10, 18 13. 

All of these events and the stationing of armed forces, which 
was continued until the year 1825, tended to make the people of 
this region familiar with military and naval movements; and all 
that related to the stateliness of military' and naval forms, the 
presence of so many military and naval officers, some of them of 
national renown, had its influence on the tone of society of the 
whole region and tended to familiarize the people with the forms 
and ceremonies of military and naval funerals with all the solemn 
obsequies, then as now, so scrupulously adhered to. 

The presence of such large bodies of men with the deaths 
and burials which were a necessary incident, demanded places of 
burial, each of which in its turn was used for this purpose. Of 
these places there may be mentioned the French burying ground, 
quite near to Fort Presque Isle, east of Parade street, which, hav- 
ing been used until a number of interments were made, was 
followed in its turn by the occupancy of a portion of Front street, 
which was used during the War of 18 12- 13. The construction 
of the Philadelphia & Erie R. R., in 1858 and 1859, caused the 
exhumation of the remains, which were still discernible Yet 
the respect and regard entertained by the earliest settlers of Erie 
for those who had lost their lives in the service of their country 
was instilled into their children, together with the form incident 
to military usage, so that when these bodies were exhumed in the 
summer of 1859 a military funeral of a most imposing character 
was accorded to the remains, and a public ceremonial under com- 
mand of the Adjutant General of the State, with military and civic 
honors, characterized their escort to the Erie Cemetery, where 
they were reinterred with ever\' mark of respect awarded them. 

In this connection it is proper to add that the military forms 
and usages had, by the continued presence of military and naval 
officers at Erie, become so familiar, that the feelings of the people 
on occasion of national bereavement, on the recurrence of the 
death of men of national renown, caused public funerals to be 
observed with unusual demonstrations of respect and of funereal 
pomp. This was most notably observable at the death of Presi- 



12 ERIE CEMETERY. 



dent Harrison, in April, 1841 ; of Ex-President Jackson, in June, 
1845, ^^<^ o^ President Taylor in July, 1850, when the people of 
Erie with military escort and religious services made manifesta- 
tions of I heir sorrow and respect. 

It was the same spirit manifested almost a generation after- 
wards, at the impressive military funerals respectively awarded by 
the city as though in general mourning, when, in July, 1863, ^^e 
remains of the lamented Gen. Strong Vincent and of Capt. John 
M. Sell, both of the 83d Regiment, a part of Erie's costly sacrifice 
at the battle of Gettysburg, were brought to their homes and 
buried with so much funereal pomp and real grief, as they were 
taken from their ancestral church (St. Paul's Episcopal) to the 
Erie Cemetery. And later, the remains of Col. John W. McLane, 
of the renowned 83d, which had been recovered from their resting 
place on the Virginia battle field, were escorted by a large part of 
the people of Erie as mourners, in the summer of 1865, ^-t the 
return of peace, to the! First Presbyterian Church, and after im- 
pressive services were carried through the dense mass of sym- 
pathizing fellow citizens to their last resting place in the Erie 
Cemetery. 

A glance at the facts above stated has seemed proper, to 
show the origin of this feeling in the town of Erie; and how it 
affected the procurement and care of burying grounds. Some 
of the older burial places, many of which had their existence in 
the first half of the last century, will now be noted. 

The old French graveyard at the foot of Parade street, 1753. 

United Presbyterian graveyard, corner French and Eighth, 
from 181 1 to 185 1. 

Presbyterian graveyard, west Seventh street, near Myrtle, 
from 1825 to 185 1. 

Episcopal graveyard, from 1830 to 185 1, on Eighth street, 
west of Myrtle. 

The Catholic burying ground, corner Third and German, 
from 1835 to 1845. 

St. Mary's graveyard, 1839 ^o 1852, East Ninth, near 
German. 




z 
o 



2 
S 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



15 



St. John's Lutheran graveyard on Peach street, between 
Twenty-second and Twenty-third, extending to Sassafras, from 
1836 to 1851. 

St. Patrick's cemetery, Twenty-fourth and Myrtle, from 1850 
to 1866. 




16 ERIE CEMETERY. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF ERIE CEMETERY. 



These old burial places having become nearly all occupied, 
serious apprehension had come to be entertained both as to 
facilities for future burials and that these places might be dese- 
crated by being appropriated to other uses, and this led to 
thoughtful consideration from time to time. 

In the month of October, 1846, to secure a Rural Cemetery 
and prevent the evils inseparably connected with grounds within 
the limits of a city, a paper was drawn up, and a few Erie citizens 
subscribed the amount of fifteen himdred and fifty dollars, with 
a view of purchasing the same piece of land on which our Ceme- 
tery is now laid out. The persons who subscribed to the object 
at that time were Chas. M. Reed, Geo. A. Eliott, John H. Walker, 
John A. Tracy, William Kelly, Smith Jackson, John Galbraith, 
B. B. Vincent, Thos. G. Colt, M. Courtright, C. M. Tibbals and 
J. C. Spencer. The subject, however, was postponed, and no 
decisive measures were taken to secure the purchase of the land, 
because of the increased price constantly required; yet the pur- 
pose was not abandoned. To obtain this piece of land, so eligibly 
situated and so peculiarly adapted by its soil and location for a 
Rural Cemetery, was an object which continued to engage atten- 
tion, and in the month of December, 1849, the first efficient 
movement was made to accompHsh the long cherished design. 
In that month a subscription paper was again circulated, by 
which the subscribers agreed to unite in the purchase of the land, 
consisting of fifteen out-lots of five acres each, at the price of one 
hundred dollars per acre. Thirty-one names were procured to 
this paper, and the same persons entered into a written contract 
for the purchase. 

An Act of Incorporation, previously prepared by a committee 
of the subscribers, was passed by the State Legislature on the 
29th of January, 1850, entitled "An Act to Incorporate the Erie 
Cemetery, in the County of Erie," and on the 24th day of May a 
majority of the Corporators met, and agreeably to the provisions 



ERIE CEMETERY. 17 



of the Act of Incorporation, chose from their body seven Man- 
agers, to-wit: Chas. M. Reed, Geo. A. Eliott, William Kelly, John 
Galbraith, E. Babbitt, Wm. Himrod and A. \V. Brewster, who, 
on the same day, organized by electing Geo. A. Eliott, President, 
and appointing Wm. A. Brown, Secretary, and J. C. Spencer, 
Treasurer. 

On the 28th day of March^ 1850, a deed of conveyance was 
made to the Corporation, and the sum of fifteen hundred dollars 
was advanced by the Corporators and paid as required; and to 
secure the residue of the purchase money, to-wit: six thousand 
dollars, in four equal annual payments with interest, a large 
majority of the Corporators signed a judgment bond, relying 
with confidence upon the sale of the lots to indemnify them. 

The thirty-one Corporators, with few exceptions, each ad- 
vanced one hundred dollars for the payment of the purchase 
money, and the deficiency, which was required on the second 
instalment, was readily made up by the liberality of a few in- 
dividuals. The following are the names of the original Corpor- 
ators, and the sums advanced by each: 



C. M. Reed, 


$100 


Geo. A. Eliott, 


$100 


Wm. Himrod, 


100 


H. Cadwell, 


100 


Geo. A. Lyon, 


100 


E. Babbitt, 


100 


A. W. Brewster, 


100 


J. A. Tracy, 


100 


J. C. Spencer, 


100 


Jos. M. Sterrett, 


100 


J. H. Williams, 


100 


M. Courtright, 


100 


I. Camp, 


100 


C. M. Tibbals, 


100 


Wm. Nicholson, 


TOO 


Wm. A. Brown, 


100 


J. C. Marshall, 


100 


B. B. Vincent, 


100 


T. G. Colt, 


100 


P. Arbuckle, 


100 


J. Galbraith, 


50 


P. E. Burton, 


SO 


Jas. Skinner, 


100 


S. Jackson, 


100 


Wm. Kelly, 


50 


F. Schneider, 


50 


P. Metcalf, 


100 


John Hughes, 


100 


Wm. W. Reed, 


50 


M. W. Caughey, 


50 


Walter Chester. 









The individuals who assisted in advancing money were, Mrs. 
R. S. Reed, $50; John Evans, of Millcreek, $50; M. B. Lowry, 
$50; J. C. Beebe, $25; Thomas H. Sill, $25; John P. Vincent, 
$25; John Moore, $25, and Andrew Scott, $10. 



18 ERIE CEMETERY. 



A suitable person to survey and lay out the grounds was 
found in the month of December, 1850, in H. Daniels, Esq., but 
the inclemency of weather was such that very little was done 
until about the 1st of April, 1851. 

The skill and judgment displayed by Mr. Daniels in laying 
out the grounds, and the efficient manner in which the work was 
accomplished under his direction, assisted by Mr. Samuel Low, 
was gratifying to the managers and met their unanimous 
approbation. 

Later, arrangements were made for procuring trees and 
shrubbery to surround the outside of the grounds, and to orna- 
ment some of the sections. Trees were set in the street twenty 
feet apart and ten feet from the lines of the ground, and also 
many in sections that were destitute of the native forest. 

The formal opening of the Cemetery took place on the 20th 
of May, 185 1. An address was delivered by the president of the 
board of managers, George A. Eliott, Esq., and the dedicatory 
address by Rev. George A. Lyon, D. D., accompanied by appro- 
priate ceremonies. 




'^^"^^' 




WALNUT AVENUE, LOOKING SOUTH 



ERIE CEMETERY. 21 



THE CEMETERY'S BEGINNING. 



The grounds now embraced in the Erie Cemetery were, at 
the time of their purchase, unoccupied and described as **Out 
Lots adjacent to the Borough of Erie." 

To the projectors and inceptors of the scheme which gave 
to us the Cemetery, we owe, not only a filial regard, but a debt 
of gratitude. It is to the nice perception and rare good judg- 
ment of these public-spirited and far-sighted men that we are 
indebted for the selection of this fitting and beautiful spot; and to 
their wise and successful financiering in securing it, are we still 
further indebted for this valuable inheritance. 

For four years had their eyes rested upon it as a place 
peculiarly appropriate for a Rural Cemetery; and when by Act 
and Deed it passed into their hands it was these men who as- 
sumed the financial responsibility of its induction, and from their 
number was chosen the Executive Board of Managers. 

The coveted piece of land when acquired was principally a 
woodland tract, a hillside forest with but a small grassy comer 
for the sun to light upon, — ^an extension of the long-known 
"Cochran's Woods." 

The grounds take in a part of the elevation marked by geolo- 
gists as the rim of an ancient lake basin. The formation is of 
gravel left by the receding waters of the lake, and below the sur- 
face it is washed almost clean of soil. From the foot of this now 
abrupt hill, the surface sloped gently away toward the north and 
was covered with a princely array of magnificent forest trees. 

Such was the chosen place ; wrought out by the mighty and 
compelling forces of wind and wave, and perennially fitted up 
by the ever-recurring miracle, "Come forth." And this was 
the trust accepted by the Board of Managers with the responsi- 
bility of converting it into a *Sleeping Chamber for the Dead. 



*The word "cemetery" is from a Greek word meaning "sleeping 

■nKftf " 



chamber. 



22 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Perhaps there was never produced in Erie a body of men 
more faithful to a trust than were those loyal men; or a body 
better fitted for a peculiar and difficult undertaking than were the 
earnest and energetic men that composed that first Board of 
Managers of the Erie Cemetery. Added to clear discernment 
was integrity of judgment, and that love of nature which makes 
a man a nobleman. It was this manifest discernment that deter- 
mined their action, when planning, to preserve the rural beauty 
of the place; and their sound discretion that counseled the em- 
ployment of art, only so far as to serve in putting in order and 
adapting the grounds to their purpose. 

It was their love of nature that so disposed the sleeping 
chamber as to leave it still to that tender mother's guardianship ; 
their timely foresight that arranged for her this sanctuary 
wherein to chant above the quiet slumberers her unending psalm 
of rest and to whisper to the sorrowing and desolate that come to 
mourn at the chamber door, her own glad story of a joyful 
resurrection. 

Much depended upon the character of the preliminary steps 
in the work; and this fact the managers recognized by providing 
for its effective supervision from; the beginning. Capt. Samuel 
Low, a resident of Erie, a man in middle life and a competent 
civil engineer, was well and favorably known by the Board of 
Managers. Capt. Low had been made city surveyor of the 
newly-incorporated city, and to him the managers of the Ceme- 
tery tendered the other newly-created office. By an arrange- 
ment with the city it was found that the two positions could, for 
a time, be filled by one person, and accordingly Capt. Low 
accepted the office of Superintendent of the Cemetery and 
entered upon its duties in April of 185 1. 

From this time until his death, which occurred at the Ceme- 
tery June 6, 1869, Capt. Low was closelv identified with the 
making of the grounds, and it is largely owing to his taste and 
foresight that the honored and sacred resting place for the dead 
is now a beautiful and attractive spot for the living. As soon 
as a residence was prepared he removed to it with his family, and 
under his careful direction what was begun as a Place of Graves, 
a Sleeping Chamber, became a beautiful City of the Dead. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 23 



Capt. Low was a civil engineer of skill and critical judgment, 
and his ability in this line as well as his acquaintance with land- 
scape engineering, rendered his services to the Cemetery 
especially valuable. In his work he was tasteful and artistic; 
quick to discern incongruity and disorder, and clear in his per- 
ception of beauty and symmetry. He planned sections and lots, 
paths, walks, carriage-ways, avenues and ornamental plats and 
laid out the larger part of the grounds. 

He had an almost instinctive reverence for the grand old 
forest trees, — the longest lived and grandest of living things on 
the earth. He loved and enjoyed their restful shade, and in his 
work he spared them wherever he could. He also had a 
thorough appreciation of the value of foliage as a feature of the 
landscape. It was through his instrumentality that the liberal 
supply of trees and shrubs was early procured and set along the 
adjacent streets; in sections destitute of trees, and in many places 
in and about the Cemetery where they now, by their beauty, 
adorn the landscape, and by their offer of comfort and compan- 
ionship add cheer to the place. 

Time has completed what was begun by Capt. Low. A 
generation have taken chambers "in the silent halls" of the City. 
That noble Board of Managers are lulled in their slumbers by the 
gentle Presence which they wooed to the spot. Capt. Low is 
sleeping under the grand old greenwood tree whose life he pre- 
served. Not one of the original Corporators saw the Fiftieth 
Anniversary of the Cemetery which they were instrumental in 
providing for others as well as for themselves. 

The first report of the Managers bears date February, 1852, 
and contains one hundred and thirty names of lot-owners. Of 
all these lot-owners who, in the fullness of life made this early 
provision for a resting place, only one — Col. D. S. Clark — is 
living to-day. All the ochers are transferred from the City of 
the Living to the City of the Dead. 



24 ERIE CEMETERY. 



A TOUR OF THE CEMETERY. 

There pass, with melancholy state. 

By all the solemn heaps of fate. 

And think, as softly sad you tread 

Above the venerable dead, 

"Time was, like thee, they life possessed. 

And time shall be that thou shalt rest." 

Visit, with us, our City of Everlasting Peace and note what 
loving memory has done to make that city beautiful as the last 
resting place of our "venerable dead." Through many a wind- 
ing avenue beneath the umbrageous shade, we pass their silent 
homes, and read before each the record brief that compasses a 
life which in its time yielded much more that with profit might 
be read. They are our loved ones gone before, and, fit indeed 
that "after life's fitful fever they sleep well,'* surrounded by all 
that is peaceful. For in our "God's-acre" art and nature have 
truly joined hands to render the place appropriately beautiful as 
a tribute to the dead and an inspiration to the living who seek the 
communion which this peaceful place invites. 

It is a vista of beauty that unfolds as we pass through the 
massive entrance-way. The well-kept drives that lead up into 
the centre of the grounds, bordered with close-cut lawn and trim 
shrubbery, with here and there a bed of flowers or foliage plants, 
or a vase filled with palms or ferns or drapery of green inter- 
spersed with blossoms, are eloquent of care exercised with 
liberality. But we pass on. 

Upon the right of the main avenue — and its entrance is 
beautified by the graceful foliage of a walnut tree upon either 
hand that, copying the frondage of the palm, gives a tropical 
suggestion — upon the right, after passing a triangle of sward 
that supports a mammoth floral vase, the prominent feature is a 
grand circle of elevated ground, its summit an inner circle that 
marks the last resting place of the Himrod family; and its monu- 
ment, a plain obelisk of marble, erected by William Himrod in 
1 85 1, is probably the first monument placed in Erie Cemetery. 
It is on the eastern end of this grand circle, and close to the 




o 



QQ 

2 



ERIE CEMETERY. 27 



entrance to the Cemetery, that the burial place of the Brewsters 
is found, in which plot is located the first grave in the Erie Ceme- 
tery, that of Alexander W. Brewster. This circle also contains 
such names as Reed (W. Windham) and his descendants, 
Caughey, Morton, Low (first superintendent of the Cemetery), 
Forster, Shirk, Scott (Andrew), Sherwood, Young, Warren and 
Jones, all identified with the beginnings of Erie. And there 
are others, later comers, as Stearns, Mehl, Oxer, Gabel and 
Sevin. 

Upon the opposite side of the main drive, in lower ground, 
shaded by stately oaks and maples, are many sleeping whose 
epitaphs record names that at one time figured largely in affairs 
in Erie. Here we find the names of Elijah Babbitt and his 
family, of Moses Billings, famous as an artist; of Sherburne 
Smith, once mayor; of Dr. A. Beebe, and of J. C. Beebe, once a 
leading merchant. There are also these names, among others: 
Simeon Dunn, Jesse Saltsman, Judge Craig, J. M. Bryant, 
Snowden Thompson, Koehler, Baker, Merritt, Walbridge, Gillen, 
Cummings, Neely, Shenk, and a family whose several tomb- 
stones indicate that in life they professed the Roman Catholic 
faith, and, beginning interments in 1853 have continued until 
this time. 

Proceeding westward through the main avenue there is 
passed upon either hand two beautiful triangles of lawn embel- 
lished with shrubbery and shaded by splendid oaks. These are 
formed by avenues that diverge from the main drive, and are 
reserved by the Cemetery for ornamental purposes. 

Upon the right hand, immediately beyond the first of the 
triangles just noted, there is another elevated area, intersected by 
numerous footpaths and shaded by mammoth oaks, lirioden- 
drons and maples, with here and there a weeping birch or a 
spire-like spruce. Upon this space are interred the Grays, 
Marshalls, Hamot, Strong, Mason and Hart, Burton, Goodwin, 
Grant and Faulkner, Silas Teel, Jarecki, Riddell and Convers, 
Sennett, McCarter and Kellogg, Clark and Gray, Lynch, Miles, 
Sweeny, McGill, Dunlap, and BHss. The section contains a 
number of fine monuments, some of granite and others of brown- 
stone or marble. Among these the Convers monument, and 
that of McCarter and Bliss are notable. 



28 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Occupying an elevated circle just west of the section last 
mentioned is the family lot of Gen. Reed, with its noble monu- 
ment of granite, and individual coverings over the various 
graves. 

Beyond this, and still to the north of the main avenue is the 
section known as D, on the plan of the grounds. Though more 
conventionally planned than any of the others yet visited, in that 
it is laid out chiefly in rectangular plots, it is by no means devoid 
of attractiveness and charm, the result of the loving care be- 
stowed upon it. It is of elevated ground, is finely shaded with 
grand old trees, many of them rendered additionally beautiful by 
the profusion of clinging vines with which their stately trunks 
are adorned. And it is populous and representative of older 
Erie. Here are interred Judah Colt, Judah C. Spencer, mem- 
bers of the Sanford family, the numerous Evans family and 
connection, Smith Jackson, Olds family, Joseph and William 
Arbuckle, James M. Scott, Scouller, Wallace, Coover, Brown 
and Elliott, Marvin, Whittier, Hamilton and Graham, Hulbert 
and Perkins, Robinson, Baldwin, Ewing, Smith, Doherty, Mel- 
horn, James Chambers and family, Major Fleming, Capt. T. M. 
Austin, N. Willard Russell, Gilson, Burton, Clark, Griswold, 
Gunnison, Wiarren, Kellogg, Crabb, Moorhead, Benson, Hughes, 
Ottinger, Vance, Caughey, the numerous Bennett family, Ayres, 
Beebe, Fullerton, Whittelsey, Hughes, Kepler, Wittich, Graham, 
Cougill, McNair, Becker and Lytle. Many fine monuments 
embellish this section. Notable is that which marks the resting 
place of the late J. C. Spencer, which is in excellent taste. The 
Evans family monument; that of the Sanfords, of Major Fleming, 
of Griswold, Bennett, Hughes, Wittich, Graham, and Capt. 
Russell, are all worthy and appropriate memorials. 

Returning, upon the main avenue, to the point where, on the 
south, the approach to the mortuary chapel forms one side of a 
large triangle devoted to the cemetery in common, we visit Sec- 
tion F, designed as a cross within a circle. Like the other sections 
that have been visited, it is adorned by fine old trees, and not less 
by the names of many who contributed their full measure in their 
lifetime to the growth of the city. Judge Selden Marvin and his 
daughter are here buried, and Samuel E. Bacon, who died in 
South America, while traveling there as the representative of the 



ERIE CEMETERY. 29 



Erie Board of Trade, lies not far distant. The family lot of the 
late T. J. Hoskinson is near the centre of the section, and it is 
marked by what is unquestionably the finest sculptured head- 
stone in the cemetery, a piece of work too good to be left to the 
destructive influences of our climate. J. W. Shannon and his 
daughter are interred here beneath costly granite grave covers. 
W. P. Edwards, M. M. Moore, T. J. Viers, John Kelley, the 
Von Busecks, of West Millcreek, Richard Gaggin and George 
Lo3^er are here interred. The Nancy Davidson lot is one of the 
best cared for and the resting place of the Elliott family of 
Harborcreek is marked by a gothic marble shaft. 

Section K is a triangle the sides of which are arcs and it is 
notable as the resting place of Gen. H. L. Brown and of the 
Hearns, and it is distinguished by the handsome monument that 
surmounts the little knoll which is the centre of the section. 

Proceeding west upon the main avenue, we next visit Sec- 
tion E, laid out compactly in small lots, paths intersecting at 
right angles. It is well filled, and has its share of well known 
names. Here rest the remains of R. Pelton, whose memorial 
work is plentifully in evidence throughout the cemetery. 
Richard Dudley, who died in England, sleeps here in accordance 
with his wish to be interred in his home city. Mathias Hartleb, 
prominent in official life, has a beautiful granite monument to 
his memory. P. G. Finn, once a prominent manufacturer here, 
is buried hard by Mr. Hartleb, and not far away Capt. John 
Graham of the old 83d Regiment, and his son, once well known 
in Erie. Other families buried here are Dietly, Dunn, Gray, 
Langland, Parson, Streeter, Norcross, Schutte, Gray, Zuck, 
Dillon, Conrad and many more. This brings us to the inter- 
section of the main avenue with what is at present called Walnut 
avenue, and is marked by a miniature fountain surrounded by a 
circle of maples. It marks what was the western boundary of 
the portion first laid out into lots or sections, for beyond that 
ihey are known by figures instead of letters. 

Section i is made up of geometrical figures that stand each 
apart. The plots are designed for family lots. They are sur- 
rounded by drives or wide graveled walks, and are raised above 
the level of the thoroughfares that bound them. Many of Erie's 
leading and most wealthy citizens are buried here, as the costly 



30 ERIE CEMETERY. 

monuments would readily testify to one not acquainted with the 
names. It is a beautiful part of the cemetery and has been especi- 
ally favored by nature, for it can boast a splendid variety of trees. 
There arc oaks of two kinds, elms, the tulip tree, the American 
linden, our local magnolia (the cucumber tree), maples, butter- 
nut and spruce, and the green turf of the lots is kept in splendid 
condition. Here is located the mausoleum of the Scott family, 
the most imposing monument in the cemetery, but there are 
many memorial columns and shafts in the section that command 
attention even beside the dominant object of interest. The red 
granite obelisk and the lighter colored granite grave covers of 
the Tracy lot are prominent, while the monuments of the Walker, 
Metcalf, Galbraith, Courtright, Richards, Johnston, and many 
other families are artistic and imposing. All the lots are suitably 
embellished in a memorial way, and many have interest to large 
numbers of Erie people. In the beautiful Davenport lot is in- 
terred the Rev. Solon Cobb, once the pastor of the Central 
Presbyterian Church, and the section includes such well-known 
names as Pollock, Barr, McCalmont and Wilson, Brady, Burton, 
Caughey, Morrison, Cochran, Dunn, Henry, Thompson, Gross, 
Noble, Lamb, Wadsworth, Black, Merrill, Arbuckle, Janes, 
Skinner, Hayes, Carter, Vincent, and Dobbins and Haverstick. 
Dr. Seymour's lot is marked by an ornate monument of white 
marble, and in a quiet spot there is a modest stone that records 
the resting place of Artist Chevalier. 

Farther to the north and west there is a portion of the ceme- 
tery that possesses many charms of situation and surrounding. 
It is formally laid out in small spaces, in accordance with what 
was but lately the accepted plan of cemeteries. The effect is to 
give an impression of crowding to a certain extent, which is 
probably emphasized by the lack of imiformity in the degree of 
care bestowed. But it cannot be said to lack claim to beauty — 
much of it is eloquent of the love that death docs not terminate. 
In Section R the names are principally of later comers to Erie, 
but yet there are those among them that will be well remem.- 
bered. The names of Hilton and Welshman, Howe and Barfus, 
Tibbals and Whitney, Sullivan, Wilkinson, and Orville Johnston 
are among those encountered in a visit to this section. 

Yet farther northwest and also oflf to the right there is a 
considerable area that is being filled with more or less rapidity. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 3^ 



A portion is devoted to small lots and another part to single 
graves, and necessarily the arrangement is severely formal. But 
latterday taste has provided a happy relief, evidenced by the in- 
troduction of the "lawn plan," which obliterates distinctions and 
boundaries, so far as they are apparent upon the surface, cover- 
ing all alike with a blanket of living, velvety green. 

A most effective exemplification of the beauties of the lawn 
plan is to be seen in Section 5, the next to be visited, and situ- 
ated over against Cherry street and at the end of the main 
avenue leading from the entrance. It is open grassy sward, sur- 
rounded by a fine drive and enclosed from the world without by 
a broad border of shrubbery that fills the space between the 
driveway and the Cherry street fence. And yet it is not with- 
out the charm of trees. These do not shade but ornament. 
As every lot is sold subject to perpetual care there are no signs 
of forgetfulness or neglect to mar the charm of a perfect lawn, 
and the monuments, as though set at random upon the grassy 
turf, seem but to enhance the beauty of the scene. Among the 
names that appear upon the monuments of this lawn section, are: 
Griffith, Fassett, Mackintosh, Hemphill, Charles and Henry 
Jarecki, Douglass, Love, Smart, Qark, Ewing, Hallock, Mont- 
gomery, Spencer Van Clevc, John Carter, Wheeler, Low, 
Warner, Burke (containing the remains that rested for so long 
a time in the vault on the hillside), H. C. Dunn, W. W. Rinder- 
necht, Paskett, Zuck, Gresley, Durfield, Mayo, Gloth, Lipton, 
Supplee, McClure, Olds, Sandusky, Becker, Brecht and Silliman, 
Shannon, Saltsman, Berriman, Bennett and Rea, Watson, 
Tanner, Hardwick and Harper. 

If, in the future, the walks shall be abandoned and the whole 
area of the adjoining plat. Section 3, shall have provision made 
for perpetual care, it, too, will merit attention for surpassing 
beauty, for it has the elements that render the new lawn section 
on the west side so worthy of admiration, the unevenness of the 
care being its principal detraction. It is beautifully situated, a 
trifle more shaded than Section 5, and its contiguity to the body 
of original woods, which it touches on the south, is an added 
charm. There are many notable monuments and improvements 
upon this section, among which may be mentioned that of the 
late J. C. VanScoter, which is the only tomb in Erie Cemetery. 



34 ERIE CEMETERY. 



It is of granite, containing two crypts. Other monuments of 
noteworthy character are those bearing the names of Selden, 
Minnig, Curtze, Gabel, Hayes, Henderson and Slocum, while 
the Lovell lot is characterized alike by its monuments and its 
flowers. In this section are to be found the remains of Dr. 
Brandes and Dr. Germer, famed practitioners of medicine; M. N. 
Lovell, once a leading manufacturer; Theo. Jarecki, prominent 
among merchants; Peter Minnig and Fred. Cooper, well known 
grocers, and D. P. Ensign, remembered both as a merchant and 
as a teacher. 

Proceeding east, we come next to a section distinguished by 
its large proportion of fine modern monuments — ^modern in that, 
while in architectural style they reproduce monoliths or obelisks 
of ancient days, they accord more with latter-day ideas of the 
artistic in cemetery memorials than what obtained but a short 
time ago, when the glaring, ghostly white of marble was re- 
garded as the requisite for memorial tablet or imposing monu- 
ment alike. The section is devoted to formal lots, each a raised 
mound and each occupied by the dead of a single family. Of 
all the monuments of this section, that which marks the burial 
place of the late W. L. Qeveland is undoubtedly the most 
artistic, being a lofty monolith of light grey granite. On the 
opposite side of the section there is another beautiful monument, 
more ornate, being a Corinthian column surmounted by a 
sculptured urn, with appropriate tablets at the base, recording 
the death of Lieut. Reid T. Stewart. The Thayer and Riblet 
lot is marked by a lofty shaft, Geo. A. Allen's with a "storied 
urn," a monument of dark granite marks the Rutherford lot, a 
monument of red granite, supporting a figure of Hope, distin- 
guishes the lot of Wm. C. Curry; on the Maus lot the features are 
a shaft of granite and grave covers of the same material, and a 
low but massive and pleasing stone monument marks the lot of 
the Leech family. There are other graves and lots appro- 
priately indicated by monuments, among them those of L. M. 
and J. W. Little, Joseph McCarter, C. E. Gunnison, Conrad 
Brown, Woodard, D. W. Fitch, French, Berst, Hyner, Brown, 
Fletcher, Reed and Thomson, Orton, Wilkins, Adams, Todd and 
Scott. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 35 



We are again at Walnut avenue, the main thoroughfare, 
north and south, and as we cross it we may tarry a moment to 
take in the beauty of the scene spread before us as a circular 
sweep is made. To the north, the elm-bordered avenue leading 
up the hill; to the south a drive that leads over the brow of a 
hill, flanked by elevated lawns only partially shaded by noble 
trees, between which are visible parts of granite shafts or the 
front of the mausoleum with its decoration of splendid palms. 
The winding course of the avenue that leads back to the entrance 
is suggested by so much as can be seen of it, while its continua- 
tion westward under an interrupted canopy of oaks and lirioden- 
drons opens up a vista of well kept drive and trim greensward, 
with here and there parterres of flowers or foliage plants, or, if 
at the right season, a wilderness of beauty resulting from the 
profusion of spireas or roses, hydrangeas or rhododendrons. 
But there is much remaining yet to claim our attention. 

Crossing over Walnut avenue we are first attracted by the 
monument and tablets that mark the lot where Col. McLane is 
buried — a beautiful slope facing the avenue on the west. Near 
by is the handsome gothic monument of white marble in memory 
of Hon. T. H. Sill, and adjacent, on either hand, memorials of 
Rev. Dr. Geo. A. Lyon, for over forty years pastor of the First 
Presbyterian Church, and Hon. Thomas G. Colt, prominent in 
public affairs in early Erie, having been the city's first mayor. 
The lot of the late William Bell is distinguished by a fine granite 
monument surmounted by a beautiful statue of Memory. Other 
monuments in this section record the names of Ryan and Tag- 
gart, Dodge, Besley, Brown — including a tablet to Anna 
Barbara Brown, born in the eighteenth century — Sterrett, 
Kellogg, T. B. Vincent, Hubley, Hall, John C. McCreary, N. 
Murphy, Merchant, McSparren and Hall. Pleasant for situa- 
tion this section is lacking care, however, in some portions, and 
thus being correspondingly marred. 

Crossing the driveway a circular section is next visited that 
contains much of interest, whether in the attractiveness of its 
general arrangement, its agreeable shade, the good taste of its 
monuments or the historical associations and suggestions of the 
names its monuments record. It is a grand circle, the central 
circle of which is the Cadwell lot in which the graves of the 



36 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Kelsey family are indicated by massive granite covers. Near 
the centre is the lot of William and James Hoskinson, which con- 
tains the grave of Basil Hoskinson, a soldier of the Revolution. 
"Uncle" Oliver SpafTord, the Benjamin Franklin of early Erie, 
is buried in this section, and so is Isaac Moorhead, of happy 
memory. There are many fine monuments and well kept lots, 
among them those of Weatherby, Alexander, Warfel, Shank, 
Roach, Cook, Russel and Hulbert, Zimmerly, Schabacker, 
Diehl and Doll, Moore, Jackson, Kirkpatrick, Whitley, Deigh- 
ton, the McDannels, Anthony Saltsman and his descendants, 
and Sidney Kelsey, an old-time newspaper man. 

Occupying a quadrangular space, the sides of which are 
arcs, the Mortuary Chapel fills an important place in the land- 
scape at this point, and, surrounded by fine trees of oak and 
magnolia acuminata, and flanked by clumps of graceful shrub- 
bery, beautiful at all seasons, and especially when in flower, the 
chapel plot is one of the most pleasing in the entire cemetery. 
The chapel itself is fully described in another portion of this 
work, and need not be referred to at greater length at this time. 

Next, to the east, is the section designated H. It is circular 
in form and similar in plan to that last visited, just to the west. 
Notable as the place of interment of many who were pioneers in 
this portion of the country, it is also to be remarked that the 
fault of neglect is to be charged in a number of instances, this 
neglect marring an otherwise very attractive section. Ap- 
proaching it by way of the main thoroughfare called by the 
present superintendent Chestnut avenue, the most noteworthy 
lot, both for situation and care, is that of the Justice and Gal- 
lagher families, in which are buried a number of once prominent 
citizens and business men of Erie. Of the Gallagher family, an 
interesting epitaph records the death of an early settler in 1816, 
aged 55 years. The Dunn family has a memorial in the form of 
a handsome monument of marble, and the Abel and Culbertson 
families, in a shady nook, have marked their burial place by a 
number of appropriate monuments of marble and granite. 
Charles Miller's lot contains a fine obelisk of granite, and the 
Trasks, C. K. Riblet, W^illiam Nicholson, Zuck and McQelland, 
are also represented by appropriate memorial stones. On the 
Cunningham and Riblet lot there are interesting tablets, two 




o 



ERIE CEMETERY. 39 

recording the death in 1810 14 of Catherine and Hartley Riblet, 
aged 80, and of John, in 1835, aged 80. Others buried here are 
these families: Mayo, Blount, Willis and Osborn, Burger, the 
Nicholsons of Millcreek, Caldwell, Johnson, McCrea, Bran, 
Coates, Teel (who died in 1827. aged 98), Wight, the Browns of 
Millcreek, and Lamberton. 

We are again at the eastern side of the cemetery, the drive- 
way called Chestnut avenue, a piece of wooded lawn remaining 
between the section last visited and the fence that forms the 
eastern boundary. The lawn is a very attractive piece of sward, 
and the trees, of chestnut, magnolia and oak, with a few spruces, 
are fine specimens and worthy ornaments to this piece of park- 
like ground. Below Section H, occupying a triangle, is the 
G. A. R. monument dedicated to those soldiers whose burial 
place is unknown, and it is the spot around which the veterans 
gather each Memorial Day in observance of the ceremonies 
befitting the occasion. 

Proceeding up the Chestnut avenue drive, a few steps will 
bring us to what is known as the Reinterment Section, a space 
devoted to the burial of those bodies which remained unclaimed 
at the time the old burial grounds in Erie were abandoned. 
There are three portions, one assigned to the reinterments from 
the U. P. burial ground, another to those from the Episcopalian, 
and the third to those from the First Presbyterian. This sec- 
tion is surrounded by trees of hemlock spruce — ^a species that is 
here more numerous than in any other portion of the cemetery — 
and the entire section, having perpetual care, is always in admir- 
able order. It is a section, however, that is but seldom visited 
although its antique stones and old fashioned inscriptions and 
sometimes quaint epitaphs are full of interest. 

Now, extending to the south, all the way to the Twenty- 
sixth street line and as far over to the west as to Walnut avenue, 
we find what may be tenned the artificial part of the cemetery, 
that portion that, when the land was purchased had been cleared 
of woods and under cultivation. It was planted with trees, 
principally maples, and these, of fifty years' growth, have attained 
splendid dimensions. In a few places there is to be found a 
hickory, a probable survivor of the first forest growth, and an 
occasional ash, while in section 17 there are a number of lindens 



40 ERIE CEMETERY. 



to lend diversity to the sylvan beauty of this burial grove. With 
the exception of the lower extremities of sections M and N, the 
general plan of the grounds up to about the latitude of Twenty- 
fourth street is severely formal. The lots are rectangular and 
the sections are traversed by walks laid out at right angles. 
Section Q and the centre of MM afford the only departures from 
the rectangular plan. It is a large area, and populous, multi- 
tudes of names appearing that awaken memories or suggest con- 
nection with Erie history. 

In Section N there are the names of Church and Parker and 
of ex-Treasurer Hulbert, the first of the soldiers of the War of 
the Rebellion to be given public office in Erie county. Aaron 
Lyons is remembered by a marble shaft in a lot enclosed in a 
stone coping. A massive monument of granite marks the lot of 
Phineas Crouch. Here are also the family lots of Gideon 
Ormsby, Parker and Goodwin, Rudd, Hayes and their connec- 
tion, Boyers, Thomas W. Crowell, Snell, Wilson and John 
Burton and the Shattucks of Millcreek. 

Across the way, in Section M, there are many noteworthy 
memorials to former citizens. Here are to be seen monuments 
to George W. Barr, H. V. Claus, McKnight, Minnig, Shattuck. 
Arbuckle, Foot, Hughes, Zeigler, Rindernecht, Myron Hayes, 
Schneider, Dickson and Vosburg, Dumer and Sechrist. The 
sepulchre of A. J. Sterrett, so long an important county official, 
is located in this section, and others who have monuments to 
their memory are Raser, Snowman, Schabacker, Doehrel, 
Moller, Hummel, Guckes, Streuber, Samuel Brown, Keeler, 
Sapper, Walther, Conrad, Liebel, Macomber, Hawkins, Slocum, 
Pflueger and Henry. They are monuments generally of good 
taste and ornaments to the cemetery. 

As has already been stated, this portion of the cemetery, 
generally, is a populous one, and as one strolls back and forth, 
reading the inscriptions, the names of many familiar as mer- 
chants, manufacturers, contractors or men of affairs in their 
Hfetime, are encountered, and many of them are remembered by 
suitable monuments. As we proceed, we find such names as 
Wood, Shue of Millcreek, Lander, Scheller, Congressman Brain- 
erd, Jos. Boyd, Dreisigaker, Strieker, D. Miller, Fairbairn and 
Gunnison, Bauschard, Cochran, Chambers, Yale, Swalley, Dunn. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 41 



Fargo, C. J. Sterrelt, Dickmeyer, Dr. H. A. Spencer, Hauck, 
Royer, Mack, Ward, Downer, Bandmaster M. W. Mehl, Humes, 
Dumars, Thompson, Doll and Wilkins, Carroll. We come upon 
the graves of Elder Steever, and Benj. Wallace, of Alexander Mc- 
Clelland; another of the numerous Burton family; of Mohr, Mc- 
Cann, Camphausen; of Enos J.Ames and Christian Thomas. The 
Hbersoles of Harborcreek are interred here, and Abram Wagner, 
who came to this county in 1806. The Parkinsons are an old 
family, and near them are the names of Brecht, Moore, Marsh, 
and Stewart, Curtis, Heidler and Lapsley. Milton and John 
McCreary and descendants, and John Kelso, general in the War 
of 1 8 12, and judge of the courts and state commissioner, who at 
his death in 1819 was 55 years old, are here; and other pioneers 
who sleep hard by are, Elizabeth Wasson, born in 1770; David 
Wasson, 1768; Thomas Rees, 1775; Mary Rees, 1783. Joseph 
D. May and Capt. John M. Sell, who was killed at Gettysburg in 
that famous battle, have monuments to mark their last resting 
places. Farther down, but in this portion of the cemetery will 
be found the grave of Capt. Sexauer, another soldier of Erie who 
paid the forfeit of his life for his loyalty. And not far from the 
place of interment of Capt. Sexauer will be found the family plot 
of G. F. Brevillier, one of the best cared for in the cemetery. 
The monument of Anna M. Decker furnishes probably the best 
piece of carving in granite to be found in the cemetery. 

Then, further up, we will find, near the Walnut avenue tier, 
the family lots of Dr. Thayer, Richards, Hume, John Elliott, 
Sherwin, Gilson, Chellis and others, shaded by beautiful speci- 
mens of maple and elm, while, across the drive, and toward the 
east, where lindens lend variety to the sylvan foliage, are found 
the graves of B. A. Parker, Philander Edson, J. C. Bush, W. F. 
Parsons, E.R. Blood and his family, Sweney and EnEarl, Minium, 
Ludwig, and O. R. Stockwell, once general secretary of the Erie 
Y. M. C. A. Over against the Chestnut street side of the 
grounds the hillside is beautiful in situation and as the result of 
memory and of care. Formal enough in its plan, the tastes 
exhibited in the selection of monuments and in the matter of 
planting and caring for the several lots have produced a pleasing 
diversity that render the section attractive from season to season. 
The trees are chiefly maples, with here and there a Norway 



42 ERIE CEMETERY. 



spruce, but in their season the rhododendron and the rose, the 
spirea and the hydrangea, the Hlac and the wigeHa contribute to 
the beauty of a charming hillside. Here is found the Neimeyer 
lot, marked by a fine monument and beautiful with flowers; the 
Benner, Rolland, Schnoor, Dawley, Lander, King, Eller ajid 
Lerch lots, all marked by attractive monuments; the Knobloch 
lot, with its lofty monument, topped by an urn and its grounds 
giving evidence of loving care; and, just at the top of the hill, the 
last resting place of Rev. A. L. Benze, suitably marked by an 
imposing monument, erected by his congregation and numerous 
friends. 

Crossing the driveway running north and south, we leave a 
section of neatness and order, indicating the more modem ideas 
in cemetery care, and are introduced to a sample of "old ceme- 
tery," where every aspect suggests adherence to the old-fash- 
ioned. In many respects it is interesting; in others it is to be 
regretted that the cemetery corporation has not full authority to 
so amend the general ways of the lot owners as to make this 
section, devoted to single graves, more conformable with the 
progressive ideas that prevail to-day. There is, it cannot be 
denied, a species of interest in finding such old-fashioned plants 
and flowers as the southern wood and the house leek, the sweet 
William and the live-forever, the bell-flower and the mullein pink, 
growing spontaneously — ^perennial reminders of the love that first 
employed them to embellish the last resting place of a relative or 
friend. But the developments are not all that could be desired. 
The eglantine and the lily of the valley; the rose and the ivy, 
appropriately mark the graves of loved ones, but they do so much 
better if they evidence continued interest and unremitting remem- 
brance, which they scarcely do when they break boundaries and 
become weeds. The cemetery management is zealous for im- 
provement, and, it is understood, is doing what it can, by 
education and example, to bring about a change here conform- 
able with new ideas ; it is a source of deep regret that the efforts 
of the management are not yet as heartily seconded by lot owners 
in this section as could be desired. 

But we proceed toward the south, and here, having topped 
the hill, there opens a most striking contrast to the last section 
visited, for it is a vista of rare beauty that is spread before us 





o 






ERIE CEMETERY. 45 



when we reach the crest of the ridge. Stretching before us is a 
beautiful expanse of lawn, closely trimmed and of even, velvety 
green, extending to where its boundaries end in the public street 
or the base of the yet higher ground to the southwest. It is a 
section, or series of sections, maintained strictly on the lawn 
system, and, save for the spruces on the Chestnut street border, 
the elms and maples on the southern margin, and here and there 
a buckeye or an ash, a catalpa or a silver birch, or maples irregu- 
larly placed, is free and open to the view and to the flood of 
golden sunlight. There are shrubs distributed about and beds 
of pansies or geraniums or coleus, but its chief attraction is the 
stretch of greensward, unbroken by path or dividing line of any 
sort. There are monuments over the graves, but these are as a 
rule in taste to correspond, and they are without suggestion of 
formality. It is a section appropriated to the comparatively new 
comers of Erie's citizens, with only here and there a name that has 
been associated with more than a quarter of a century of our his- 
tory. Here no marble slab bearing date of the eighteenth 
century will meet the eye — its interest is of another kind — ^the 
charm of peace is an appeal to another sense. It brings with it 
a feeling of content; it contains promise both of an advance in 
aesthetic taste and a veneration for the dead. Let us look at 
some of the monuments. They contain, among others, these 
names: Seymour Torrey, W. W. Ross, Carl Doehrel, J. 
Knobloch, P. D. Bryant, Turner, Carter, Seymour E. Reed, 
Peter Hartleb, Rufus S. King, Thaddeus J. Elliott, Seib, Strick 
and Neuberger, Coates, Dunn, Henry A. Thayer, Wickman, 
Hooper, Kate White, Nelson Olds, James Tennant, Capt. W. G. 
Zimmerly, and Henry S. Jones, for a quarter of a century super- 
intendent of Erie's public schools. 

Now we have reached the roadway that leads farther up, 
towards the highest portion of the cemetery grounds, and the 
slope between the lawn section and the road is a lawn planted 
with shrubs. There are cornus and spirea, berberis and 
sambucus, hydrangea, paeonia and wigelia. On the way up we 
pass the family vault of the Browns, shaded by a Norway spruce 
and an ash tree, but the slope on the right is as yet in nature's 
care. 

Standing on the brow of the hill, to the left as the road turns, 
is the Dickinson family lot, beautiful for situation and bearing 



46 ERIE CEMETERY. 



evidences of constant care. On the right, surrounded by a hedg^e 
of aborvitae, almost the only hedge of its kind remaining in the 
cemetery, is the family lot of William Willing. Close by is 
found the grave of Rev. Robert Reid, first pastor of the U. P. 
Church, and alongside the resting place of Hon. Isaac B. Gara 
and his wife. A marble slab laid horizontally marks the grave 
of two boatswain's mates of the Michigan, killed in 1849 by the 
accidental discharge of a gun while firing a salute. (There 
were seven killed by this accident, a salute in honor of Vice 
President Fillmore, on his departure from a visit to Erie.) And 
there are many names of Erie pioneers to be read from the 
epitaphs that are distributed about under the shade of the patri- 
archal trees. Here are Benjamin and Ora P. Gtmnison, Rev. 
A. G. Laurie, Rev. Joseph H. Presley, Col. I. Camp and the 
Marshall family, Dr. William M. Wallace and Irwin Wallace, 
Senator M. B. Lowry and his family, the Reeds of Millcreek back 
for several generations, the Riblets and Sterretts, including Judge 
Joseph M. Sterrett and George W. Riblet, associated with news- 
paper history of early days; Thomas King, Michael Riblet, John 
Pherrin and Samuel Pherrin, born in the eighteenth century. 
Here is to be found the plot devoted to the Home for the Friend- 
less, and opposite, the mausoleum of Hon. J. F. Downing. Dr. 
Jacob Vosburgh, one of the earliest of Erie's physicians, who died 
in 1853, and Samuel Barr, who died in 1845, rest on this hill-top, 
and near by is the grave of Rev. Bennett Glover, second rector 
of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. The family lot of the Stranahans 
and Lacys is marked by an imposing monument of granite. The 
lot set apart for the burial of the dead of the Love family bears 
record of the comings and goings of several generations, begin- 
ning with James Love, who came to Erie from Cecil county, 
Md., in 1802, and next to it is the lot in which are buried the 
departed of the McCreary family, back to Joseph F., who was 
bom in the year of American independence — he was the father of 
Gen. D. B. McCreary. And here, too, is the burial place of the 
family of Rev. Benj. Canfield Jones, now pastor of Park Church. 
It would be difficult to conceive of a more charming burial 
place than this lofty eminence that is the summit of the Erie 
Cemetery. Shaded by ancient trees of chestnut, hemlock 
spruce, oaks, cherry, ash, tulip tree, maple, hornbeam, walnut, 
sassafras, magnolia and Norway spruce, it commands a pano- 



ERIE CEMETERY. 47 



ramie view of a stretch of country as fair as ever the sun shone 
upon, that extends away to the south — cultivated farms, inter- 
spersed with orchards and woodlands, a scene of peace and 
plenty and contentment that is a joy to the eye. Upon the other 
hand may be seen the city partially hid by its forest of shade trees, 
and beyond, the shining waters of the bay and the blue of the 
open lake, extending until water and azure sky meet at the 
horizon line. Nothing is more restful than the view and the 
surroundings of this portion of the city of the dead. 

And now we turn backward, following the drive down the 
hillside from the southwestern comer of the cemetery. It leads 
through what is a remnant of the original forest, and is composed 
of some of the grandest old trees to be found anywhere in this 
portion of the country. The hillside is attractive with many a 
graceful form of vegetation and is a procession of beauty as the 
seasons advance, beginning with the bloodroots and early 
meadow rues of the springtime, and followed in regular succes- 
sion by the violets and anemones and a hundred other floral 
forms until the asters and golden-rods close the book of the year. 
Nor are the myriad forms of flora and sylva all that charm the 
visitor or render this beautiful place sacred to the memory of the 
dead a constant delight to the living who come to pay memorial 
tribute to friends passed over. From earliest spring the mag- 
nificent forest is vocal with the music of the feathered choir that, 
while they find here secure asylum in which they may roam at 
will and estabKsh their aerial homes, sing their joyful songs of 
hope and love and happiness above those who peacefully sleep 
beneath the green turf, and the little four-footed denizens of the 
woods have almost lost their fear, in their consciousness of the 
security the sacred place affords. 

Off to the left may be seen through the trees, the spot set 
apart for God's poor, with here and there a modest monument 
and occasionally a flowering plant, evidence that love knows no 
condition in Hfe. Above them stretch in constant benediction 
the far reaching arms of the noble trees that stand sentinel over 
them, while the birds exercise no discrimination in their contri- 
butions of song. 

But the road leads out to Walnut avenue in due time, and 
from the junction point, near the old public receiving vault, now 



48 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



in disuse, we obtain a magnificent view of the splendid avenue, 
bordered by graceful elms and flanked, on the left by the magnifi- 
cent old woods, and on the east by the new forest of maples, 
impressive in the summer by its masses of living green and 
resplendent in the autumn in crimson and gold. This, the finest 
avenue in the cemetery, leads down to the central point, occupied 
by the fountain, whence it turns into the main avenue leading to 
the entrance 

It is a populous city that we have been visiting. There are 
at rest within its confines 15,000 dead, laid there during the half 
century of its existence. And yet, it is calculated there is room 
remaining for burials for sixty years to come, with possi- 
bilities for the future that promise at the end of that period a place 
of even greater beauty than that which so eminently distinguishes 
it to-day. We have here the story of the Erie Cemetery of the 
present. What will its story be sixty years hence? 





< 
> 

Q 
< 



O 



ERIE CEMETERY. 51 



MODERN METHODS. 



Oh, grave, where is thy sting? 

There can be little doubt that the methods employed in the 
sepulture of the dead at the present time would, if such a thing 
were possible as to have one of the original corporators of Erie 
Cemetery return to witness it, impress him as past entire compre- 
hension, so radically different is the usage of to-day from what 
obtained in the olden time. Some reference has been made to 
the developments observable in the arrangement and care of the 
grounds, the departure from the old formal method of laying 
them out, and in the general care bestowed. There has been 
just as noteworthy an advance in the methods attending the 
formal committal to the grave of the bodies of the dead. Then 
everything pertaining to this important duty seemed, as we of to- 
day would judge it, harsh and even in a measure repulsive. 
There was the yawning grave with its heap of excavated earth by 
its side, and into this cold and forbidding chasm the coffin 
was lowered. Then, at the proper time, to lend a sort of theatric 
realism, as the words of the minister, "Earth to earth, ashes to 
ashes, dust to dust," were repeated, a shovelful of the dirt heaped 
by the side of the g^ve was thrown in upon the top of the coffin 
with a hollow clatter that sent a thrill of horror through the 
frame of even those whose sensibilities were not of the finest. 

How different that from the method that not obtains in Erie 
Cemetery ! The grave is robbed of more than half its terrors by 
the transformation that surely has been suggested by love — that 
certainly has been prompted by humanity. The grave, lined 
with white cashmere, festooned with smilax or with flowers; every 
trace of the grave-digger's trade removed; even the excavated 
earth removed and the surface of the ground covered with a car- 
pet, and, if the weather be inclement, the spot protected by an 
awning — ^what could better stimulate the feeling of hope beyond 
the grave; what more surely tend to assuage the grief of loved 
ones at the final parting? Hardly are we yet beyond the tradi- 



52 ERIE CEMETERY. 



tion that requires a handful of earth as the fitting response when 
"Dust to dust" is spoken, but that act is now of the most unob- 
trusive sort. It is a grateful departure from the custom whose 
only recommendation is that it is time-honored. 

And it was in line with the spirit of humanity developing in 
modern hearts that there was provided, in 1888, the beautiful 
mortuary chapel of Erie Cemetery. It was prompted by much 
the same sentiment that a few years later evolved the interment 
feature to which allusion has just been made. The purpose was 
partly to ameliorate the conditions attending funerals from a dis- 
tance, that had previously obtained, and partly to make provision 
for the care of bodies that were not to be immediately interred. 
The need of such a chapel, and of better facilities for the care of 
bodies than were aflforded by the old receiving vault in the hill- 
side, so impressed itself upon the board of managers and the 
corporators that about the year 1887 it was decided to take steps 
to provide what had come to be regarded as a pressing need. But 
there was no undue haste, for it was regarded as the part of 
wisdom to make a study of the subject before arriving at a 
decision. In order to obtain all the information possible Col. 
D. S. Clark and the late William Himrod, members of the Board 
of Managers, visited a large number of cemeteries, examined the 
chapels and vaults critically, and returned with ideas and opinions 
obtained from those whose experience qualified them to speak. 

The tour of observation and inspection took Col. Clark and 
Mr. Himrod first to Buffalo. There the arrangements for the 
temporary care of the dead were so very unsatisfactory that a 
hurried departure was taken. At Rochester the Erie representa- 
tives were well pleased with the vault which they examined. At 
Utica, however, a vault was found which met approval in every 
sense. It was used in a neighborly manner by the Catholic and 
Protestant cemeteries, which adjoined, and in the vault, at the 
time, there was found the remains of Gov. Horatio Seymour. 
The place and its surroundings pleased the commissioners from 
Erie Cemetery so greatly that they decided to model the new Erie 
Cemetery chapel and vault in a general way upon that at Utica. 
However, there were found to be improvements possible. The 
result of the trip was the adoption of a plan which, while it pro- 
vides all that was found desirable in the best systems examined, 




o 



2; 






§ 






ERIE CEMETERY. 55 



was yet in advance of any that had been seen, and it was also 
drawn upon a scale intended to meet the demands of the future. 
That, in the respect of measuring up to future requirements, it 
has fallen a trifle short — the chapel being hardly adequate to the 
demands now frequently made upon it — is scarcely an error of 
judgment, for there had previously been nothing that could have 
been regarded as a criterion. 

As it exists to-day the Mortuar>' Chapel of Erie Cemetery is 
looked upon as a model, and experienced cemetery managers 
have declared it, in its entirety, unsurpassed by anything of its 
nature in the country. It is a beautiful building of the gothic 
style of architecture built of brownstone and covered with a roof 
of red slate and tile. Cruciform in its ground plan, the point 
where all arms join is surmounted by a tower carried higher than 
the main building by what would equal a half-story. The ex- 
treme length of the building is 84 feet and 6 inches; the extreme 
width 40 feet. The entrance to the chapel is at the north end of 
the building, through an open portico the roof of which is sup- 
ported by graceful and symmetrically proportioned columns. 
The chapel room, which is about 38 by 20 feet in area, occupies 
the basal portion of the cross. It is lighted by stained glass 
windows, the floor covered with a fine carpet; is provided with a 
platform or pulpit at the upper end, which is furnished with a 
brass reading desk and upright chandeliers, also of brass, and 
upholstered chairs. The room is furnished with folding chairs 
and is heated by a furnace. Its vaulted ceiling is lofty, and the 
finishing is in oak. Behind the pulpit a pair of heavy curtains 
conceal the door that leads to the vault, permitting the casket to 
be passed through at the conclusion of the funeral service. In 
the winter time it has become customary to have the burial ser- 
vices in the chapel, the interment taking place after the company 
has departed. It is not an infrequent occurrence that after the 
burial service the body is deposited in the vault to remain until a 
choice of a lot may be made. 

In the vault itself is found the feature of peculiar excellence 
which commends the chapel to superintendents and managers 
from abroad who visit Erie Cemetery. The head and two arms 
of the cross, which is the plan of the building, is the portion 
occupied by the vault. This consists of a series of crypts in 



56 ERIE CEMETERY. 



tiers, each of the tiers enclosed by its own pair of sliding doors, 
and there are in all 84 of these crypts. They are, of course, of 
different sizes, varying from the dimensions of a child's casket to 
those of the largest size. The crypts are so constructed that 
there is a free circulation of air above and below and at either end, 
the air ducts leading up into the lofty tower and thence into the 
open air, the result being that the vault is always in a condition of 
purity and freedom from odor — save, possibly, the perfume of the 
flowers that have been carried in upon the casket when it was 
passed through from the chapel. Standing in the centre, or 
rotunda, the appearance of the four walls is that of panel-work 
from the stone floor to the ceiling. 

The surroundings of the chapel are appropriately beautiful. 
It occupies a charming situation not far from the cemetery 
entrance and is approached by a broad winding drive which parts 
directly in front of the structure, and bends off to left and right, 
intersected at length by other similar drives from the south, thus 
forming a figure of four sides, each of the sides an arc, in the 
centre of which plot the chapel is situated. This plot is a lawn 
studded by fine shrubbery that, from the blooming of the Judas 
tree in the early spring, until the autumn frosts have changed the 
foliage to gold, is always "a thing of beauty'' and therefore *'a 
joy forever." 

Until 1896 the entrance to the Erie Cemetery was through 
a set of heavy cast iron gates, guarded by a little octagonal 
porter's lodge, picturesque enough in its drapery of Virginia 
creeper, but by no means either impressive or adequate. In the 
year mentioned, however, an important change for the better — an 
improvement worthy the name — was brought about by the erec- 
tion of the new lodge and a set of wrought iron gates. Tlie- 
posts are of brownstone, massive and imposing, and the driveway 
up from Chestnut street and through into the grounds is paved 
with vitrified brick. The gates supported by the posts, while 
heavy, are yet of a design that suggests symmetry and grace, 
giving the impression of beauty as well as strength. 

The Lodge is a building 70 by 40 feet in area, of one high 
story and basement, placed high up on ground terraced from the 
main driveway. The building is of brownstone, its square or 
hip roof covered with red slate and tile, and what would have 



ERIE CEMETERY. 57 



been the severe outline of the roof artistically broken by dormer 
windows. There is a spacious porch at the entrance, which is 
reached by stone steps, and, enclosed by a parapet from which 
rise the columns that support the roof, it forms at once a retreat 
that invites to rest those weary after the tour of the cemetery 
and an ornamental feature of the building. Within there is a 
large reception room with vestibules, offices with fire-proof vault 
for the preservation of records, a room for the managers, an office 
for the superintendent and toilet rooms for the public and for 
officers. The interior is finished in quartered oak, high paneled 
wainscoting and frieze and mantels, and the vaulted ceiling is 
delicately tinted. Rugs upon the polished floor, and desks and 
furniture of oak compose, with the always-present accompani- 
ment of fine growing plants, the furnishings of the rooms and 
complete a most attractive suite of apartments, designed as much 
for the accommodation of the patrons of the Cemetery as for the 
comfort and convenience of the officials. 

Private interments were introduced in Erie on the occasion 
of the burial of Mrs. J. C. Beebc's mother, the widow of Captain 
John Richards. Capt. Richards came to Erie in 1813 to help 
build Com. Perry's fleet, and took up his permanent residence in 
this place. The private observance of the rite of interment, so 
begun, at once commended itself, and now it may truthfully be 
said that probably half the burials are witnessed alone by the near 
relatives or intimate friends of the deceased. 



68 ERIE CEMETERY. 



NOTABLE DEAD IN ERIE CEMETERY. 



The boast of heraldry, the pomp of power, 
And all that beauty, all that wealth e'er grave, 

Await alike the Inevitable hour— 

The paths of glory lead but to the grave. 

How many chapters of the history of the city : indeed, of the 
state and nation, are suggested by the names upon the monu- 
ments and tablets that mark the last resting-place of those now 
habiting the **city of the dead." They whose brief mortuary 
records are seen on every hand were, in their time, witnesses of 
and participants in events that were building a nation and mould- 
ing a race, and, their labors over, they sleep at the end of that 
pathway universal, and the visitor to the cemetery, reading their 
names, finds hints and suggestions that recall many important 
incidents of the past. 

Erie Cemetery has its fair share of notable names, and, in 
those names suggestions of the past with all its achievements. 
Much of this story of the past is of the deepest local interest. 
There are those named by the tombstones who were among the 
pioneers who opened up the wilderness and paved the way to its 
conversion into the splendid and populous region it is to-day. 
How much of the history of the beginnings of this community is 
suggested by reading the name of Col. wSeth Reed, pre-eminent 
among the old settlers^ or his direct successors, Rufus S. and Gen. 
Charles M. Reed, completing three generations of the builders of 
this city? And hard by will be found the names of other 
pioneers, such as Judah Colt, Dr. John C. Wallace, Daniel 
Dobbins, Gen. John Kelso, Thomas Wilson, Col. Thomas 
Forster, Capt. Martin Strong, a man of large influence; Samuel 
Hays and his two sons. Then there were the Sterrett brothers, 
six in number, three of whom — James, Joseph and Robert — are 
interred here. Another family, notable alike for its numbers and 
its important connection with the early development of Erie and 
vicinity, is that of John Evans and his five sons, four of whom, 
James, Thomas, Robert, and William, are interred here. And 




HON. JAMES SILL. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 61 



yet another notable family: that of Thomas Hughes, and his 
sons, James, John, Alexander, Thomas, William, George and 
Perry, all of whom, except William, who died while crossing the 
great plains, lie buried here. Conrad Brown and his sons, 
Conrad and Samuel, are also in the list of the pioneers. These 
other names, identified with the early development of Erie, are met 
with: Archibald McSparren, Major Dunning McNair, P. S. V. 
Hamot, Giles Sanford, — and at a later day his son-in-law J. C. 
Spencer and his own son Myron Sanford; David Kennedy, 
Thomas Laird, John Teel, A. W. Brewster, William Fleming, 
George Selden, followed afterwards by his four sons, all buried 
in our beautiful Godsacre. And the story of the city's develop- 
ment is continued in mind as we read the names of E. D. and 
Benjamin Gunnison and the two sons of E. D. and three of 
Benjamin; of Josiah and George Kellogg, William Kelly, David 
Walbridge, Basil Hoskinson and his sons William and James ; of 
Robert Brown, Thomas G. Colt, Elihu Marvin (a somewhat later 
comer), B. B. Vincent, James and John Williams, John Berst, 
Col. Abiathar Crane, Capt. John Justice, Samuel Brown, Thomas 
King and his sons Wilson and Alfred, James Lytle, Presley 
Arbuckle, the Riblet brothers (Jonathan, J. H., William and 
George); David Burton and his sons P. E., Andrew and 
W^ooster. 

But there were those whose names were associated with 
especial lines in the development of Erie, and a chapter is sug- 
gested when the name of Capt. George Miles is read, calling up 
those other captains who aided to give early Erie its prominent 
place in a commercial sense, and who sleep with Capt. Miles 
beneath the shade of the oaks and maples and liriodendrons in 
beautiful Erie Cemetery. There are Captains G. W. and W. M. 
Gallagher, Capt. W. W. Dobbins, Capt. John F. White, and the 
captains of the famous Reed fleet, when steamboating was in its 
palmiest days — Capt. John Richards and his sons Thomas and 
John S.; Captains Thomas and Ben. Wilkins, father and son; 
Capt. William Davenport and Capt. John Fleeharty. The 
revenue cutter service is represented by Capt. Douglas Ottinger, 
and the independent sailing merchant service by Capt. Fred 
Culver and Capt. Winchell. 



(i2 ERIE CEMETERY. 



And we can read here the chapter of Erie's development as 
a manufacturing centre. Pardon and James Sennett, William 
Himrod and David Shirk are of those who came here at an 
important juncture to bend their energies to the development of 
the iron industry. And the growth of that particular branch of 
manufacuring is suggested by the names of Prescott Metcalf and 
his son Joseph P., Joseph McCarter, the Jareckis, Orange 
Noble, C. H. Lovrein, John Fairbairn and Samuel and George 
Selden, one an originator of the Griswold Manufacturing Co. 
and the other occupying a similar relation with the Erie City 
Iron Works. William R. Davenport and John Fairbairn were 
connected with the building of cars. Thomas Mehaffy, with 
A. W. Brewster, followed Alvah Flynt in the introduction of the 
woolen manufacture; J. H. Woelmer and C. Schwengel represent 
the manufacture of oilcloth, and Alfred King, a notable man in 
his life time, was the pioneer in the manufacture of malt and 
introduced the cultivation of barley in this section. The names 
of W. H. Deming, the Bauschards, the Carters and Hugh Jones 
suggest the wooden industries; the Hayses, Sterrett, Gunnison 
and Streuber are associated with tanning, while M. N. LiovelFs 
name is still prominently connected with manufacturing in Erie. 
The flour milling industry and its help in the development of 
Erie is recalled by the names of Daniel Converse, Jehiel Towner, 
John Robinson, Henry Gingrich, H. B. Haverstick, S. E. Bacon 
and H. L. Crouch. 

And there are names that recall the history of the building 
of the railroads and the construction of other great works that 
have marked the development of the city, the state or the nation. 
Here are names that are identified as those of notable contractors 
in their day: Wilson King, J. W. Ryan, J. R. Cochran, William 
Himrod, Milton Courtright, Irvin Camp, J. Aj. Tracy, W. L. 
Scott, M. B. Lowry, A. W. Brewster, Smith Jackson, John S. 
Brown, Wm Kelly, Gen C. M. Reed, James Dunlap, George J. 
Morton, M. Henry, the Hoskinsons, John Hill, John Constable, 
W. E. Bell, Samuel Lytle, and Hugh Jones. 

The chapter of church history called up by inscriptions 
and epitaphs is as interesting as the period covered is extended, 
for here are found the resting places of ministers whose long 
periods of service gave proof of the degree of love and esteem in 



ERIE CEMETERY. 63 



which they were held by their congregations, and the story of 
these clergymen is the history of the churches they so faithfully 
served. Here are to be found the graves of Rev. Robert Reid 
and Rev. Joseph H. Presley, whose ministrations to the United 
Presbyterian Church covered a period of nearly two thirds of a 
century; Rev. Bennett Glover, one of the first rectors of St. 
Paul's; Rev. George A. Lyon, for forty-two years pastor of the 
First Presbyterian Church — his only charge; Rev. Mr. Steever, 
an Elder in the M. E. Church; Rev. A. G. Laurie, once pastor 
of the Universalist Church; Rev. Solon Cobb, for many years 
pastor of the Central Presbyterian Church; Rev. A. L. Benze, 
of St. John's Lutheran Church; Rev. Joseph Vance of the Pres- 
byterian denomination, and Rev. William Todd, a Methodist 
minister. 

And the doctors — ^there are more who once represented the 
medical profession in Erie who to-day sleep beneath the spread- 
ing shade of the fine old trees of Erie Cemetery than there are, 
probably, of any other of the learned professions. And how 
intimately they have been connected with the history of this 
community, the pioneer of the physicians being also quite as 
truly a pioneer in every other respect, for Dr. J. C. Wallace, Gen. 
Wayne's physician, was one of the first comers to Erie. No 
more faithful servants of the race are to be found anywhere than 
were those physicians whose epitaphs may be read in Erie Ceme- 
tery. They include : Doctors A. Thayer, Jacob Vosburgh, Asa 
Coltrin, Peter Christy, the Faulkners (Peter, William and 
Robert); Dr. Abijah Beebe, who died in Philadelphia, but was 
buried here; Dr. W. P. Lattimer, an Erie boy who went to Paris 
to finish his scientific education, but came home to die; Doctors 
C. F. Perkins, C. Sevin, W. M. Wallace, J. L. Stewart, H. A. 
Spencer, E. W. Germer, N. Seymour, Sanford Dickinson, and 
J. S. Carter. 

And, while the professions have been brought to mind, it is 
proper to consider the magistrates and practitioners of law who 
once served in Erie but who now fill alotted spaces in the city of 
the dead. A reading of the epitaphs will serve to show that 
these magistrates have here a record in stone: E. D. Gunnison, 
Giles Sanford, Joseph M. Kratz, John Morris, John D. Haver- 
stick, Christian Heck, G. J. Ball, George Kellogg, William 



64 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Thornton, Allen A. Craig, Frederick Curtze, William Kelly, 
James Skinner, F. W. Kochler, Wilson King, John Sweeney, 
George 1\ Griffith, Wilson Laird, G. W. Gunnison. 

The practitioners of law were these: G. A. Eliott, Elijah 
Babbitt, J. C. Marshall, C W. Kelso, W. C. Kelso, J. B. Johnson, 
A. J. Foster, G. N. Johnson, S. M. Brainerd, Richard Sill, 
Matthew and William Taylor, J. W. Brigden, S. L. Gilson, 
Benjamin Grant, F. F. Marshall, and W. A. Galbraith. 

Erie of to-day is pardonably proud of its educational status. 
Here lie those who shaped its progress and aided its development. 
Of the early educators none have higher rank than Asa E. Foster, 
who came from New Hampshire in the early thirties with that 
thorough education those who come from New England are 
expected to have, and took charge of the Erie Academy. After- 
wards he originated in his own home the Erie Institute, where 
the classics were faithfully instilled into the minds of those who 
were placed under his educational care. His successful labors 
were interspersed with many years' service as a volunteer instruc- 
tor to those confined in Erie jail, where his work was unwearied 
and entitled him to a place among the most public spirited of 
Erie's citizens. His assiduous labors were aided by his devoted 
wife, and the evening of his life was spent with his daughter, Mrs. 
St. John, in Indiana. His fragrant memory will long continue. 

Rev. Robert Reid and his eldest son James C., were identi- 
fied with educational work in the Academy, and while the labors 
of the father were connected with its earlier years the work of 
the son, as principal, more prominently identified him with the 
institution of which his father was so long president. Preceding 
his extended business career Alexander W. Brewster was an 
instructor in the Academy, and E. D. Gunnison, another in- 
structor in the same institution, brought to his work those habits 
of thoroughness and industry that are so characteristic of natives 
of the Old Granite State. 

D. P. Ensign came here from New York state to take a posi- 
tion in the Academy, which he filled for a number of years, but 
was induced to accept a position in the public schools, occupying 
the school house, that, subsequently rebuilt, has been known as 
No. 2. Here he did much in moulding and getting in motion 
that system of higher education in the public schools which has 





o 



QQ 



ERIE CEMETERY. 67 



become so popular, for which Mr. Ensign merits continual 
recognition. 

Henry S. Jones's first connection with education in Erie was 
as principal of the schools grouped in No. i, in the West Ward. 
Plaving, by his fidelity, tact and thorough preparation for the 
work become prominent in this connection, he was, upon the 
creation of the ofiice, elected the first superintendent of schools 
of the city of Erie. To lay deep and strong the foundations of 
what he could descry in the future to be a work of such magni- 
tude, enlisted his ablest exertions. To say that he was successful 
during the many terms to which the Board of Directors elected 
him ; to say that he met with consummate tact all difficulties that 
lay in the way of building up a system of advanced education in 
Erie, and to say that his career was one of great success, is but 
an imperfect statement of the long and continuous service in 
behalf of education rendered by the late lamented Dr. Jones, and 
while others have successfully continued the work he began, the 
people of Erie will not fail to remember the untiring and even 
brilliant efforts rendered by Dr. Jones during his young manhood, 
identified as he was with education in Erie. 

This is another historical chapter that the names upon the 
monuments in Erie Cemetery suggest. 

There are those, however, whose influence extended beyond 
the limits and bounds of their home town; who were connected 
with the making of constitutions and laws and the formation of 
the fabric of state. Thomas H. Sill and John H. Walker were 
connected with the constitutional conventions in 1837 and 1873, 
of the latter of which Mr. Walker was president. J. H. Walker 
was the cousin and pupil of Robert J. Walker, secretary of the 
treasury under President Polk, and succeeded President Mere- 
dith of the constitutional convention. 

Then there are to be read here the epitaphs of many notable 
law-makers. Here lie: Thomas Wilson, one of Erie's earliest 
representatives in Congress; John Galbraith, Elijah Babbitt, 
John B. Johnson, James C. Reid, C. W. Kelso, Gideon J. Ball. 
While Chief Justice Thompson was long a resident of Erie and 
might be expected to be noticed here because of his distin- 
guished services, yet he was buried in Philadelphia. Of these 
law-makers and executors of law James C. Marshall should not 



63 ERIE CEMETERY. 



be overlooked, nor Wilson Laird, thrice mayor and prominent as 
a legislator. Then there are these, also resting in Erie Ceme- 
tery: Morrow B. Lowry, Charles M. Reed, S. M. Brainerd, J. M. 
Sterrett, James D. Dunlap, James Skinner, George W. Starr, 
Orange Noble, W. L. Scott, Jonas Gunnison, J. R. Cochran, and 
William Henry. 

Nor are the great epochs in the nation's history without rep- 
resentation or suggestion in the names the monuments of Erie 
Cemetery present. The great struggle that gave this American 
nation birth is recalled by the names of such survivors of the 
Revolutionary War as Col. Seth Reed, Capt. Thomas Forster, 
Col. Abiathar Crane, Capt. Daniel Lee, Hubbard B. Burrows, 
Basil Hoskinson and others, men who, after helping to give the 
new republic birth, became pioneers to pave the way for its 
western growth. 

Of the heroes of the War of 1812, the "Second Revolution," 
there are names that took high rank in the history of the time to 
be found among those recorded in marble and granite in Erie 
Cemetery. Here is found the name of Capt. Daniel Dobbins, 
but for whom, perchance, the battle of Lake Erie would never 
have been possible. Then there is Gen. John Kelso, an 
important figure in that war; and Col. Forster should not be 
omitted though mentioned as having figured in the war of 1776. 

And the later and greatest struggle of all; that war which 
was waged for the preservation of the nation when misguided 
men sought its wreck; how much there is of the story of that 
time suggested by the names upon the tombstones! Here we 
find the name of Gen. Strong Vincent, who bore so prominent a 
part in the engagement that was the turning point of the war, his 
splendid service on Little Roundtop at Gettysburg, where he 
yielded up his life, being the pivot upon which the success of the 
battle seemed to turn. Here, too, lies the gallant Col. McLane, 
commander of the first regimental contribution of Erie county 
for the defense of the Union ; and of Gen. H. L. Brown, the first 
colonel of the 145th Regiment. These, with Major Ball, 
Captains Sell, and Sexauer and Graham and Austin, and a host of 
other officers and men, the roster of which in this bivouac of the 
dead is yearly lengthening, tell the story of Erie's patriotism in the 
stirring time of the sixties. Nor is the navy of that period with- 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



out representation in the marble record of heroism, for we read, 
along with the names of other brave sailor boys, that of Com- 
mander James W. Shirk, who bore so conspicuous a part in the 
gunboat service of the great rivers, a service that was of incal- 
culable importance in conquering a peace with the Confederates. 
These are the names of Erie men that call up chapters in the 
history of the nation as their epitaphs are read from the monu- 
ments that mark their resting places in Erie Cemetery. 

Thus far our sketch has had to do principally with the earli- 
est citizens of Erie and their descendants. But history, as read 
from the inscriptions on the tombstones, records that in time 
there was added to our community a new element, the representa- 
tives of another race. In due course there appeared epitaphs in 
the German language and names of Teutonic origin. These 
names suggest much of the history of Erie, especially of the 
period of its greatest development: Such names as the Germer.5, 
the Jareckis, Schneider, Curtze, Brevillier, Rindemecht, Becker, 
Knoll, the Schabackers and Dolls, Hartleb, Wittich, Dr. Brandes, 
Kiefer, Haller, Zimmerly, Diefenbach ; Rev. A. L. Benze, who left 
a family of sons to take up his labors in the ministry of the 
church he so faithfully and efficiently served; the Streubers, 
Shenk, Walther, Busecks, Stohlman, the Bauschards, the Savins, 
and many others. 

Over in the section beneath the grand old trees of the 
original forest, that plot commonly known as the Potter's Field, 
there is a grave marked by a modest monument of marble that 
bears the inscription, in German: "Hier ruhet Abbe Peter 
Wilhelm Mosblech, M. D., Ph. D., M. S. A., geb. in Beienburg, 
Rheinprovinz, Preusen, 4 Jan. 1808; gest. 29 Jan. 1886; alter 78 
jahren, 25 tage." Brief record of a life of far more than common 
interest. Dr. Mosblech, born in the Catholic Church, was 
educated for the priesthood, finishing at the University of Bonn. 
But he early abandoned holy orders, forsook the Catholic Church 
and removed to Paris. There he finished his education in medi- 
cine and devoted himself to science, paying particular attention 
to philology, and became proficient in the oriental languages, his 
high attainments in this respect winning him honorary member- 
ship in the Society of Asiatics and the title of Abbe. He was on 
familiar terms with all the leading literary and scientific men of 



70 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Paris, and with many of the leaders of thought and research in 
England. He was a frequent visitor at the g^eat botanical gar- 
den at Kew, and at the British Museum, and, with Charles 
Darwin discussed a forthcoming book — ^The Origin of Species — 
which was soon to move the intellectual world. 

Believing himself to be in danger because of his changed 
religious views he decided to come to America and, obtaining 
the post of surgeon in a trans-Atlantic steamship, he landed in 
New York. Later he took up his residence in Wheeling and 
Cincinnati, practicing medicine in both cities, and marrying in 
the latter place. His wife died early. Subsequently he filled 
the chair of Greek and Hebrew in ihe college at Bethany, W. Va., 
remaining there until the War of the Rebellion closed that insti- 
tution. Meanwhile his philological work continued. He wrote 
a dictionary of the Hawaiian language, which is authority to this 
day, and translated a portion of the scriptures into the language 
of the Sandwich Islands. Upon leaving Bethany he removed to 
Warren, Pa., where he practiced medicine, and later came to Erie. 
But the infirmities of advancing years were obstacles to success 
and he finally relinquished all attempts to obtain a living as a 
physician, and, turning his effects over to the county authorities, 
entered the Erie County Almshouse where, after a residence of 
about ten years, he died. His attached friend. Rev. A. L. Benze, 
caused his remains to be buried in Erie Cemetery and erected the 
monument that now marks his final resting place. 

He was master of fifteen different languages, a physician of 
ability, a writer of remarkable grace, and a natural scientist of 
high attainments. He was a gentleman of culture and a most 
delightful companion alike to old and young. In many respects 
he is the most notable person buried in Erie Cemetery. 




COL. DAVID 8. CLARK, 
President 1903. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 73 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



It is appropriate that individual mention should be made of a 
few of those most prominently identified with the administration 
of affairs connected with Erie Cemetery, who bore conspicuous 
part in the organization of the corporation, and, during the half 
century of its existence as chief executive officers or as superin- 
tendents in charge rendered faithful and efficient service. 

Honored by their fellows, their fidelity to the trust reposed 
justified the choice made, while the splendid development of the 
Cemetery, its steady growth in beauty and peaceful charms, and 
the frequent and important advances made toward improvement 
in the methods or facilities for the care of the dead have given 
proof of their intelligent interest in all that pertained to the busi- 
ness, and of the possession of a spirit of true humanitarianism 

Backed by the liberal support of the corporators, the presi- 
dents and superintendents of Erie Cemetery have well performed 
an important work. 

GEORGE A. ELIOTT. 

George A. Eliott was a native of Connecticut and a graduate 
of Yale College. He was of an old family, tracing his ancestry 
to William the Conqueror, and was of the same family stock as 
John Eliot, the "apostle of the Indians," who did so much to 
teach Christianity to the aborigines. He came to Erie while a 
young man and settled, being the second resident member of the 
bar. He was of imposing presence and courtly manners and at 
an early day became identified with Erie and the administration 
of justice. He married Miss Sarah Brown, daughter of Robert 
Brown, one of the earliest citizens of Erie, and erected for his 
home the somewhat stately mansion that stood for so many years 
on the site of the present home of Mrs. C. H. Strong. Having 
practiced law for many years he retired in about 1841, and 
from that time until his death in 1871 was one of the best known 



74 ERIE CEMETERY. 



citizens of Erie, and had much of leisure, which permitted him to 
participate in public affairs. Upon the organization of the 
Cemeter>' in 1849 and 1850, he was elected the first president of 
the corporation, and in that capacity appeared at the dedication 
of the Cemetery in May, 185 1. Mr. Eliott was proverbially 
thoughtful and considerate and bestowed much care upon the 
conditions and limitations connected with the organization and 
conduct of the cemetery, and much of its success may be at- 
tributed to the care and consideration which it received from its 
first president. He had two sons, William H. and John, the first 
of whom died at an early age, and the latter was one of the active 
managers for many years and took a deep interest in the institu- 
tion which his father had so great a part in founding. As the 
officers of the cemetery were by the charter inhibited from receiv- 
ing compensation for their services, very much of credit is due to 
the faithful men who initiated and for more than half a century 
carried on the business incident to the founding of the city of the 
dead. Mr. Eliott died in 1871, at his home in Erie, his widow 
surviving him a number of years. No act or service of Mr. 
Eliott during his long and active life, will be longer remembered 
than his faithful and successful administration of the cemetery, 
the success and permanency of which he had so much at heart. 

CHARLES M. REED. 

Gen. Chas. M. Reed, president of Erie Cemetery from Janu- 
ary 14, 1856, to January 12, 1857, was the representative of the 
third generation of the Reed family, so prominently identified 
with Erie from its beginning as an English speaking community, 
down to the present day He was the only son of Rufus S. Reed, 
and was grandson of Col. Seth Reed, the pioneer of the Hne, who 
built the first house in what eventually became the town of Erie. 
He was born in Erie in 1803. His father, the leading and 
wealthiest citizen of Erie in those days, properly ambitious for 
his son, gave him an excellent education, supplementing the best 
instruction afforded by the local schools with a course at Wash- 
ington College. After his graduation he went to Philadelphia 
to complete his law studies, and, after being admitted to practice 
at the Philadelphia bar, in 1821, he returned to Erie. Here, 
however, he soon abandoned law for general business, in which 




OBOBQE A. BLIOTT. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 77 



he developed marked abilities and in the course of time amassed 
a colossal fortune. In his day he was the steamboat king of the 
west, and the change from steamboats to railroads, found him in 
the van in this new line of enterprise. In every direction in 
which business endeavor led, he was in the front, and as mer- 
chant, banker, contractor and promoter and manager of great 
undertakings he was uniformly successful. 

He was very much a man of affairs in Erie at that time, and 
was recognized by his fellow citizens by being elected to positions 
of honor and trust. A brigadier general of militia, he was also 
elected to serve in the legislature of the state and as representa- 
tive in Congress. He was one of the original corporators of the 
Erie Cemetery, his name standing first in the list of those who 
subscribed to the initial fund for the purchase of the property 
now owned. Elected president of the corporation in 1856, he 
served for but a single year. 

He was married in 1838 to Miss Harriet Gilson of Water- 
town, N. Y., by whom he had four children, two daughters, now 
deceased, one who married Henry Rawle, another, Alice, who 
died in 1871, and two sons, Charles M. and Lloyd G., still living 
in Erie. Gen. Reed died at his home, Sixth and Peach streets, 
December 18, 1871, and was buried in the family lot in Erie 
Cemetery whence his forbears of two generations had preceded 
him. His widow survived until 1901. 

J. C. SPENCER. 

Judah Colt Spencer, bom at Hadlyme, Conn., July i, 1813, 
was the oldest son of William and Deborah (Selden) Spencer, 
and came to Erie in 1829 to take a position in the land office of 
his uncle, Judah Colt, who was well known in connection with the 
early history of Erie. At his uncle's death, in October, 1832, he 
succeeded to his business, in the transaction of which thousands 
of acres were sold. Mr. Spencer was fortunate in the matter of 
his introduction into Erie by a person of such prominence and 
such influential position as Mr. Colt, at whose death Mr. 
Spencer's succession, both in matters of church and state, seemed 
so natural. Not only was very much of Mr. Colt's business 
placed in Mr. Spencer's hands, but he took a position in church 
and business circles, very much in conformity with that main- 



78 ERIE CEMETERY. 



tained by his uncle in his long* and useful life. He was quite 
young when he not only took but maintained the successorship 
to so noted and influential a person as his uncle, Judah Colt; and 
that he was found faithful to every trust is as gratifying as it is 
observable in a review of Mr. Spencer's career. He had a 
prominent part in the early history of the Erie & North East 
Railroad, (now a part of the L. S. & M. S. Railroad). He was 
president of the Common Council of Erie. He was one of the 
founders of and for many years president of Park Church. He 
was for more than twenty years president of the Erie Cemetery, 
and was one of the founders and for twenty-two years president 
of the First National Bank. His activity in the Erie County 
Bible Society was for many years noteworthy. His selections of 
property in Erie were judicious and his estate was carefully man- 
aged and at his death, quite large. 

He was married May i6, 1837, to Lavinia Stanley, daughter 
of Giles and Laura Goodwin San ford. They had five children, 
of whom four survived their parents. These were Frances L., 
Lavinia D., widow of Bishop Spaulding, Mrs. Catherine Van- 
Cleve, wife of Rev. Dr. VanCleve, and William, who succeeded 
his father as president of the First National Bank. These four 
survived their sister Elizabeth, who died before her parents. 

Mr. Spencer's marked individuality of character early at- 
tracted attention, and he made for himself a distinct and declared 
position as a thoughtful man, whose opinions were positive, 
though not obtrusive; who, while ready to listen to others, yet 
never compromised with wrong; who always exercised his own 
judgment. 

He was a man of system, decision and energy. An unusual 
combination of suavity of manner, with firmness of decision, was 
a leading characteristic, and had much to do with his success in 
life. With all his public employments and positions of trust he 
was unassuming, and shrank from obtruding himself. His de- 
light was in his home circle, and for near a half century he main- 
tained a hospitality which became proverbial. He was a 
Christian from early life, and the friend and counsellor of his 
pastor. There was magnetism of manner, a heartiness of greet- 
ing, which never forsook him. His whole life was given up to 
things pure and holy, and of good report, in the family, in the 




GBN. C. M. RBED. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 81 



church and in the community. He was gentle, firm, courageous 
and persevering to the end. 

It is gratifying to state that the long service of Mr. Spencer 
as president of the Cemetery was marked by the same character- 
istics as made his private business so successful. All his acts in 
this connection were carefully considered and tended towards the 
permanency and improvement of the grounds which now in their 
beauty testify to the care with which they have been guarded. 

Mr. Spencer expired at his home in Erie on the first day of 
September, 1885, with the respect and regard of the entire com- 
munity with which he had been so long identified. 

GEORGE W. STARR. 

George W. Starr was bom in the year 1822, at Burlington, 
Vt. Having received a college education he came to Buffalo in 
the early forties, where he studied law. About the time of his 
admission to the bar, in 1846, he was invited by Capt. Champlin, 
a veteran of Com. Perry's fleet, and one of the heroes of the tenth 
of September, 181 3, to accept the position of captain's clerk on 
board the U. S. S. Michigan, to the command of which Capt. 
Champlin had been assigned. He accepted the post, and in do- 
ing so the current of his Hfe was turned, for he came to Erie, 
making it his permanent home, and, after that, did not proceed 
further in the prosecution of his duties at the bar. 

Mr. Starr was a person of methodical habits and took great 
care in the discharge of any duties which he undertook. In 
185 1 he married one of the daughters of the late P. S. V. Hamot, 
and as an incident in the management of the property thus 
brought under his care, he became unusually cognizant with the 
management of public matters in Erie. For a number of years 
he served in the Select Council of Erie, and was twice elected to 
the Pennsylvania legislature. He also served as water com- 
missioner for a number of years and to his care and attention 
much of the efficiency connected with the system of Erie's public 
supply of water may be attributed. He was also a member of 
the Pennsylvania State Board of Public Charities and gave care- 
ful attention to the matters thus coming under his consideration. 

In the year 1885, upon the death of J. C. Spencer, Esq., who 
had so long served as president of the corporation, Mr. Starr was 



82 ERIE CEMETERY. 



elected as president of the board of managers. He accepted the 
position and from that time until his death gave to the office his 
oversight, care and thought. In each matter that was brought 
to his attention he seemed to give towards its decision the same 
care as if its determination were to be solely governed by his 
action. Many of the most important improvements of the ceme- 
tery were added during his incumbency as president, and his in- 
tense anxiety for the prosperity and permanence of the cemetery 
were apparent to all who conferred with him on any matter relat- 
ing thereto. 

He had many other public duties, all of which weighed upon 
him, and in a measure affected his health. On Saturday, March 
29, 1902, almost without premonition, he was fatally stricken, and 
expired at his home, on Easter Sunday, March 30, aged 80 years. 
The career of Mr. Starr had been so much identified with public 
duties that his loss was felt very much by the citizens of Erie, but 
all acquainted with his activity in the promotion of the cemetery's 
interests will associate his life with the advancement and adorn- 
ment of the beautiful spot in which he now reposes. His widow 
survives him. 

ALEXANDER W. BREWSTER. 

Alexander W. Brewster, one of the original corporators of 
the Erie Cemetery, died on Monday, May 2y, 1851, in his 55th 
year. 

Alexander W. Brewster was a native of the north of Ireland 
and came to this country with the family of his father, who had 
taken a farm a little east of the city, the land that included what is 
now known as the Brandes farm, partly occupied by the P. & E. 
shops. In early years Alexander Brewster taught school in the 
log house at Seventh and Holland streets, and later in the Erie 
Academy. He was elected sheriff in 1828, serving a full term. 
In 1849 h^ was elected burgess of the borough of Erie, and after- 
wards a member of the first Select Council of Erie under its first 
act of incorporation in 185 1, which office he held at the time of 
his death. He was one of the most active business men of Erie, 
both as merchant and manufacturer, and was connected with the 
erection of the woolen mill on State street, which at that time was 
an important factor in the industrial history of Erie. He was 




JUDAH C. SPENCER. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 86 



a man of eminent public spirit, a leading member of the Associ- 
ated Reform, now United Presbyterian, church and for a long 
time filled the office of precentor. He was twice married, first 
to Miss Eunice Walker, who died without children, and after- 
wards to Miss Susan M. Jones, who survived him about forty 
years. He had a family of six daughters and three sons, of 
whom Mrs. L. M. Little is the only survivor resident of Erie. 
His son William Brewster, was prominently connected with the 
management of the Scott interests, but died a few years since. 
Mr. Brewster was one of the original corporators and managers 
of the Erie Cemetery, and was the first person interred in the new 
city of the dead, leading the long procession which has since 
followed. 

HON. JAMES SILL. 

This work would not be complete without some reference to 
Hon. James Sill, not only for the reason that he took as keen and 
deep an interest in the Erie Cemetery as any man who was ever 
connected with it as a corporator or in an official capacity, but 
because this handbook was the last piece of work he undertook; 
it was, in fact, left incomplete, and only his fast failing powers 
and the almost sudden visit of the Death Angel prevented the 
closing up of what had been to him one of the most pleasing 
tasks to which he had ever directed his labors and energies. 

Hon. James Sill was a son of Hon. Thomas H. Sill, and was 
educated for the legal profession, in which he attained promi- 
nence. Ever active in affairs, he took a prominent part as a 
public speaker, not alone as the advocate of the principles of the 
party with which he affiliated, but as a citizen and American, 
delivering many noteworthy speeches upon special occasions. 
He served as district attorney and as Senator from the Erie dis- 
trict, in the latter capacity achieving a brilliant record. 

He was best known, however, as a historian, famous especi- 
ally for his knowledge of local events and happenings. His 
memory was phenomenal, and dates and circumstances were re- 
cited with all but unerring accuracy. Seldom was his memory 
at fault; even in the last of his days upon earth it served him 
faithfully and well. 



86 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



He was of a kindly nature and most obliging disposition, 
never forgetting a friendly act, always ready to repay a kindness 
with interest. Courteous in his intercourse with men, he was no 
respecter of persons; he was as cordial in his greetings to the 
humble poor as to his more fortunate fellow citizens. Simple in 
the extreme in his own mode of life, yet there was none who more 
greatly admired pomp and circumstance in its proper place. 

To Mr. Sill the Cemetery was a camping ground, for here 
were assembled in their last sleep scores and hundreds with whom 
he was well acquaint. It was also a sacred place, in which to 
tread with reverence. It was likewise a joyous place, for he was 
devoutly pious and the grave was to him but the door that per- 
mitted entrance to another and better existence; his hope was an 
anchor beyond the grave. 

In his death the community lost a valuable citizen, the Ceme- 
terv a stalwart friend. 





HON. GEORGE W. STARE. 



ERIE CEMETERY. S9 



THE SUPERINTENDENTS. 



SAMUEL LOW. 

Capt. Samuel Low, the first superintendent of the Erie 
Cemetery, a man of remarkable energy and noble attainments, 
was of English ancestry and Colonial descent. He was bom in 
Barre, Mass., in 1791. In the same year Vermont, the first to 
ask admission into the Union, became a state. To this new 
state the parents of Capt. Low emigrated with their infant son, 
courageously taking their place among the frontiersmen, facing 
out toward the wilderness. In the heart of the Green Mountains 
the boy grew to manhood, in the meantime, principally through 
his own efforts, acquiring a well grounded education and note- 
worthy skill as a mechanical engineer. Upon his marriage he 
removed to Erie county, Pennsylvania, building his home and 
establishing a milling industry in Venango township, on the west 
blanch of French Creek, the place eventually becoming Lowville, 
one of the oldest settlements in the county. 

Later he removed to Harborcreek, engaging extensively in 
the milling business, which he conducted successfully for nearly 
twenty years. While there, desiring to change his occupation 
he studied surveying, and soon afterwards, removing to Erie, was 
chosen city engineer of the newly incorporated municipality and 
served from 1851 to 1859; (later he was again appointed city en- 
gineer, occupying the position from 1861 to 1863). By special 
arrangement he also served as superintendent of Erie Cemetery. 

His proficiency in trigonometrical surveying, his familiarity 
with the use of the theodolite and surveyor's transit, together 
with his knowledge of astronomy enabled him to determine and 
establish a meridian line for the purpose of testing the accuracy 
of the compass needle. Marbles marking the line at exact points 
were by him placed in an obscure part of the cemetery where 
they remain to this day and are still frequently consulted by civil 
engineers. 



90 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Capt. Low was, by George Wolfe, fourth governor of Penn- 
sylvania, commissioned captain of militia. As commissioner he 
served Erie county from 1836 to 1839; and again from 1839 to 
1840, the latter term filling the vacancy caused by the death of 
Thomas Sterrett. 

As a citizen Capt. Low was ever resourceful and ready, keep- 
ing in close touch with the enterprise of the century, whether 
educational, scientific, political or social. Though not desirous 
to hold political office he never failed in his duty as a citizen. A 
loyal and staunch supporter of his political party, yet in the cast- 
ing of his vote he never allowed principle to be overruled by 
policy. 

His work at the Cemetery appealed to his love of the beau- 
tiful more than any previous work of his life. It also appealed to 
his sympathies. Its duties were performed with great zeal and 
fidelity. His warm personal interest in the place and all that 
pertained to it, his unremitting devotion to its sad duties, to- 
gether with his social and sympathetic nature endeared him to 
those whom, in the capacity of superintendent, he served, and 
caused him to be honored and loved in the office which he so 
long and faithfully filled. His period of service extended from 
May 24, 1850, to June 6, 1869. 

Capt. Low was succeeded by his son Cassius W. Low, who 
brought to the work valuable experience obtained under the first 
superintendent. His services extended from June 21, 1869, to 
November 3, 1871. 

REV. JOSEPH VANCE. 

Rev. Joseph Vance, superintendent from 1871 to 1889, was 
the sixth of eight children of John and Rachel (Beach) Vance, 
and was born January 25, 1806, in Mindham township, Morris 
county, N. J. The father was a country wagon maker, and, in 
common with the rest of the sons of the family, Joseph inherited, 
or seemed to, an aptitude for mechanics, eventually reaching the 
decision of becoming a skilled weaver. With this end in view he 
apprenticed himself to a master weaver. After following the 
varied fortunes of his master, and later, the foreman of the mill, 
from place to place, he returned in 1826 to Bloomfield, N. J., 
where he had been indentured, intending to complete his educa- 




ALEXANDER W. BREWSTER. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 9S 



tion in his chosen trade in the mill where he had begun it. 
Providence decreed otherwise. 

Soon after returning to New Jersey under the influence of 
his childhood's pastor, Rev. Amzi Armstrong, who had preceded 
him from Mindham to Bloomfield, he was converted, and decided 
to study for the ministry. After preparing for college at the 
Bloomfield Academy he entered Williams College, Massachu- 
setts, and graduated there in 1832. He studied theology pri- 
vately under Rev. Wm. Hooper of Morristown, N. J., and was 
licensed by the presbytery of Morris and Orange May 6, 1834. 
He was married the same day to Miss Marietta King of 
Bloomfield. 

Mr. Vance was then pastor successively at Boonton and 
Sussex, N. J., 1834-39; South Orange, N. J., 1839-44; field 
superintendent of the Presbyterian Board of Home Missions 
(N. S.) in central and northeastern Pennsylvania, 1844-46; pastor 
at Girard, Pa., 1846-54, with Fairview and Sterrettania added a 
part of that time, and lastly at Belle Valley, 1854-71. His first 
wife having died at South Orange, N. J., Feb. 23, 1843, ^^ was 
married again March 13, 1844, to Miss Hannah Bell of South 
Orange, who survived him nearly two years. 

Soon after resigning at Belle Valley he was surprised by 
being asked by several of the managers of Erie Cemetery to 
apply for the superintendency. He made the application and 
w^as chosen, entering upon his duties in November, 1871. This 
office he held until disqualified by age, resigning in October, 
1889. Mr. Vance, in taking upon himself the duties of super- 
intendent assumed an altogether new role, but from the begin- 
ning demonstrated his fitness for the position to which he had 
been called. Faithful and zealous in the discharge of his duties 
he readily adopted new methods as they suggested themselves, 
and won the approval alike of the corporators and lot owners by 
the ideas that he originated and made operative. 

He led a serene old age after retiring from the superin- 
tendency, and died April 26, 1897, in a remarkable possession of 
his faculties at the ripe old age of 91 years, 3 months and i day, 
like "a sheaf of corn fully ripe in its season," thoroughly honored 
and respected as a man and a Christian by all who had ever 
known him. 



94 ERIE CEMETERY. 



HENRY W. HAY. 

Mr. Hay was, on the seventh of October, 1889, appointed 
superintendent of Erie Cemetery, and entered upon the discharge 
of his duties on the fifteenth of the same month, performing the 
duties of the position with entire satisfaction during the remain- 
der of his life. He removed from Fairview, which had previously 
been his home, occupying the superintendent's residence on the 
grounds, with his family. 

Having bten a careful farmer during his preceding life it 
was within his experience to develop the care and cultivation of 
the lawns and roads of the cemetery, aiding in its transformation 
into the beautiful grounds which now constitute the City of the 
Dead. The fitness he displayed in the position justified his 
selection by the board out of some eleven candidates. He had 
been in the discharge of his duties but two and a half years when 
death terminated his services. 

Henry W. Hay was born in Fairview, Feb. 15, 1836, the son 
of William and Julia (Dempsey) Hay. The Hays x:ame to Erie 
form Maryland, one of the brothers settling in Erie, where he 
afterwards was appointed the first postmaster of Erie. The 
other branch of the family took root in Fairview, where a tract 
of land was secured that remained in the family to the present 
time. William Hay, father of the subject of this sketch, married 
Julia Dempsey, who came to Erie with her parents in 1804. 
Henry W. Hay was one of a family of ten children, all of whom 
became honorable citizens of the county, many of them well 
known. James D. Hay, Register and Recorder of Erie county 
for six years, was a brother. 

Mr. Hay was married March 12, 1874, to Emma Irwin 
Eaton, daughter of former County Commissioner W. W. Eaton, 
and granddaughter of Rev. Johnston Eaton, distinguished for his 
missionary work in this region when it was a wilderness. He 
aided in organizing the First Presbyterian Church of Erie and 
was its first pastor, and for a time performed the double duty of 
ministering to the Presbyterian church at Fairview and the First 
Presbyterian Church at Erie. It is no doubt from this admir- 
able stock that Mrs. Hay has inherited the marked executive 
ability noticeable in her administration of her present charge. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



95 



Henry VV. Hay died Jan. 24, 1892, after filling the position 
of superintendent less than three years. Immediately after his 
death the position of superintendent was tendered to his widow, 
who during her husband's term had familiarized herself with the 
work. Being urged, with diffidence she accepted the trust, 
which has been filled to the entire acceptability of the man- 
agement. 




96 ERIE CEMETERY. 



THE CHARTER AND LAWS. 



AN ACT 



TO INCORPORATE THE ERIE CEMETERY, IN THE COUNTY OF 

BRIE. 

Section i. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Repre- 
sentatives of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in General As- 
sembly met, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the 
same, That Charles M. Reed, James C. Marshall, John Galbraith, 
Smith Jackson, William Kelly, Milton Courtright, B. B. Vincent, 
William Himrod, Joseph M. Sterrett, George A. Eliott, Thomas 
G. Colt, William A. Brown, Judah C. Spencer, Prescott Metcalf, 
Elijah Babbitt, Joseph H. Williams, Henry Cadwell, Charles M. 
Tibbals, Frederick Schneider, Walter Chester, George A. Lyon, 
Peter E. Burton, Alexander W. Brewster, William Nicholson, 
Irvin Camp, William W. Reed, Presley Arbuckle, John A. Tracy, 
James Skinner, John Hughes and Miles W. Caughey, be, and 
they and their successors are hereby created a body politic in law 
under the name and title of the "Erie Cemetery," and by that 
name and title shall have perpetual succession, and be able and 
capable in law to have and use a common seal, to sue and be 
sued, implead and be impleaded, in all courts of law and equity, 
and to do all such other things as are incident to a corporation. 

Section 2. The annual meeting of the corporation shall be 
held on the second Monday of January* in every year, at such 
time and place, and on such notice as shall be provided for in the 
By-Laws, at which annual meeting it shall be the duty of the Cor- 
porators to fill all vacancies that may occur in their number from 
among the lot holders in the cemetery, the same being citizens of 
the county of Erie, and at such annual meetings said Corpora- 
tion shall have full power and authority, by a vote of the majority 
of the Corporators present, to pass, ordain and establish all such 



* By amendment of 1898, the annual meeting occurs on the second 
Tuesday of May in each year. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 99 



by-laws, rules and regulations, not contrary to the Constitution 
and laws of the United States and of this State, which may be 
necessary for the proper government of the corporation, its 
officers and affairs, the protection of the cemetery and grounds 
from visitors and intrusion, for the regulation of burial, the im- 
provement of burial lots, the erection of grave stones, monu- 
ments and sepulchral structures, and the inscription on the same. 

Section 3. The business of the corporation shall be con- 
ducted by a board of seven managers, chosen from the body of 
the corporators as hereinafter provided ; said Board of Managers 
(five of whom shall constitute a quorum necessary for the trans- 
action of business,) shall choose a President out of their own 
number, and shall have power to appoint a Secretary and Treas- 
urer, and such other officers and agents as may be needful, to fix 
their compensation and wages, and discharge the same at pleas- 
ure ; to take security from the Treasurer for the faithful perform- 
ance of his trust, to enforce and carry into execution all the 
by-laws, rules and regulations of the corporation, and to do all 
other acts necessar}'^ within the power conferred upon the cor- 
poration by this or any other act. The first election of Managers 
may be held at any time that a majority of the corporators shall 
appoint, on their giving at least ten days notice in at least two 
newspapers printed in Erie, which election and all subsequent 
elections of Managers, shall be by ballot; the Managers thus 
chosen shall serve until the next annual meeting of the corpora- 
tion, when, annually thereafter, the corporators present shall 
elect a Board of Managers to serve for one year, and until their 
places are supplied, in case of failure to elect. Said Board of 
Managers shall cause a record of their proceedings to be kept, 
and shall make report of the same, and the state of the finances, 
at each annual meeting of the corporation, and as much oftener 
as may be required by a majority of the corporators. 

Section 4. The said corporation shall have power to con- 
tract for, purchase, pay for, receive title, and hold any tract or 
tracts, or other quantity of land within the county of Erie, not 
exceeding, in the whole, one hundred acres, for the purpose of a 
cemetery, and the same to lay out, fence and ornament, to divide 
and arrange it into suitable plots and burial lots, establish car- 
riage-ways, and foot-ways, and other avenues, erect buildings, 



100 ERIE CEMETERY. 



and to do all other things necessary and proper to be done to 
adapt the ground and premises to the uses aforesaid, and to sell 
and dispose of said lots and plots, making the title in fee simple, 
or otherwise ; for the purpose of sepulture, to individuals, socie- 
ties or congregations, or other public bodies, without distinction 
of person, party or sect, under such conditions, rules and regula- 
tions as the corporation may establish for the government of lot 
owners in the occupancy of the same, not inconsistent with the 
provisions of this act: Provided, That all the land thus pur- 
chased and held by the corporation, or so much as shall be laid 
out and appropriated to cemetery purposes, shall not be con- 
verted to any other use, either by the corporation or its grantees, 
and all the land thus purchased and held by the corporation or 
by its grantees for burial purposes, shall be free from all taxes, 
except for State purposes, and from seizure, levy and sale under, 
or by virtue of any execution or other legal process against the 
said corporation, or its grantees: Provided, That said exemption 
from seizure, levy and sale, shall not extend to more than four 
lots held by any one individual. 

Section 5. That the corporators thus created shall derive 
no personal pecuniary advantage or profit thereby; they shall 
make no dividends of the corporate property among themselves, 
and shall not receive any pay or compensation for services as 
such. The whole proceeds of the sale of lots, and other income, 
are hereby declared and directed to be devoted to cemetery pur- 
poses alone, and to such outlays and expenditures as are incident 
thereto, unless in case of a surplus not needed, in which con- 
tingency it shall be in the power of the corporators at their an- 
nual meeting to direct such surplus, or any part thereof, to be 
appropriated to charitable purposes under the direction and 
superAasion of the board of managers. 

Section 6. The corporation shall be capable of holding 
property to such an amount as may be necessary for the purposes 
of its creation, and it shall be the duty of the corporation, at the 
end of five years from the passage of this act, and forever there- 
after, to set apart ten per cent of the purchase money received 
from the sale of lots, and to invest the same in ground rents or 
mortgages, as a permanent and perpetual fund, the income of 
which is to be devoted to the perpetual maintenance of the ceme- 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



101 



tery. Any failure in the duties enjoined by this act, shall sub- 
ject the corporators and managers to the control of competent 
judicial authority for correction. 

J. S. M'CALMONT, 
Speaker of the House of Representatives. 

V. BEST, 
Speaker of the Senate. 

Approved the 29th day of January, 1850. 

WM. F. JOHNSTON. 




102 ERIE CEMETERY. 



THE SEVERAL SUPPLEMENTS 

TO THE ACT INCORPORATING THE ERIE CEMETERY. 

Approved March 29, 1851. P. L. 270. 

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of 
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in General Assembly met, 
and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Wal- 
nut Lane, from the South line of Out-Lots numbers three hun- 
dred and ninety-two and three hundred and ninety-three 
(adjacent to the Borough of Erie,) so far as the said Lane passes 
South to the Ridge Road, and between Out-Lots numbers 
twenty-eight, twenty-nine, thirty, twenty-seven, one hundred and 
five, one hundred and four, one hundred and three, one hundred 
and six, one hundred and sixty, one hundred and sixty-one, one 
hundred and sixty-two, one hundred and fifty-nine, two hundred 
and thirty seven, two hundred and thirty-six, two hundred and 
thirty-five, which said Out-Lots have been purchased by said 
Corporation for the purposes of a Cemetery, be, and the same are 
hereby vacated, and the same may be laid out and used and oc- 
cupied, in connection with the said Out-Lots, for the purpose of 
a Cemetery by the said Corporation. 

Section 2. That the Managers of said Corporation are here- 
by authorized and empowered to sell and convey any number of 
the above mentioned Out-Lots, or parts of the same, which they 
may deem not necessary for the purposes of said cemetery, not 
exceeding twenty-five acres. 

Approved April 18, 1853. P. L. 543. 

That in case of the death, removal or resignation of any of 
the Managers of the Erie Cemetery, the remaining Managers, or 
a majority of them, may appoint from the body of the Corpor- 
ators a suitable person to fill the vacancy, and the person or 
persons so appointed shall serve as Manager or Managers until 
the next annual election. 



BRIE CEMETERY. 103 



Approved February 2^, 1863. P. L. 79. 

Section i. That the annual meeting of the Corporators of 
the Erie Cemetery shall hereafter be held on the first Tuesday of 
May* in each and every year. 

Section 2. The managers chosen on the second Monday of 
January, 1863, shall continue in office until the first Tuesday of 
May, 1864. 

Section 3. At each annual meeting of the Corporators here- 
after held, three Corporators shall be chosen to act as Auditors 
of the accounts of said Managers for the preceding Board. 

Section 4. It shall be lawful for the managers of said Ceme- 
tery to receive donations, from any person or persons, in trust, 
to constitute a fund, the interest of which shall be used, so far as 
the same shall be required, for the purpose of keeping in repair 
and order the lots and enclosures thereof, of any person or per- 
sons who have removed from the county and permitted their 
lots and enclosures thereof to get out of order and repair. 

Section 5. Whenever any person or persons, owning any 
lot in said Cemetery, shall permit said lot, its shrubbery or in- 
closure, to get out of order and repair, it shall and may be lawful 
for the Board of Managers of said Cemetery to repair said lot, 
its shrubbery and inclosure, and the reasonable cost thereof to 
collect from said owner or owners, as debts of like amount are 
now by law collected, in cases of judgment, in trespass or trover. 

Approved March 2y, 1868. P. L. 1869. 1335. 

Section i. That the Erie Cemetery may receive by bequest 
from any person or persons, any sum of money, and shall receive 
from any lot owner or lot owners, or the friend or friends of any 
lot owner or lot owners, of any person interred in the Cemetery 
of said Corporation, any sum or sums of not less than fifty dollars 
in amount, at any one time, or to any single use, the income of 
which shall be applied and expended for the keeping of lots in the 
said Cemetery in repair, or the preservation or renewal of any 
tomb, monument, gravestone, railing, fence or hedge therein 
situate, as shall be directed by the person or persons by whom 



* Chanp:ed by amendment of 1898 to second Tuesday of May. 



104 ERIE CEMETERY. 



the same shall be devised, or from whom the same shall be re- 
ceived; and the said Corporation shall keep a just and true 
account of all moneys received as aforesaid, stating the several 
times when they were received, the several amounts thereof, the 
use to which the income of each is to be applied, and the name of 
the person or persons from whom the same were respectively 
received, whether by bequest or otherwise, and shall invest the 
same in some permanent fund, or pay interest thereon at the rate 
of six per cent per annum; Provided, That the said Corporation 
and its officers shall in no case be responsible for their conduct 
in the discharge of any obligation or duty arising under the pro- 
visions of this Act, except for good faith and for such reasonable 
diligence as is by law imposed upon or required of mere gratui- 
tous agents. And provided further, That the said Corporation 
and its officers shall not be obliged to make any separate invest- 
ment of the several sums of money received under the provisions 
of this Act ; and that the average income derived from all funds 
of the like nature shall be divided annually, and the proper pro- 
portion thereof carried to the credit of the lot or purpose entitled 
thereto, upon the account of moneys received under the provi- 
sions of this Act. 

AMENDMENT. 
(By the Court of Common Pleas of Erie County, Sept. 5, 1898.) 
To the Hon. Emory A. Walling, President Judge of the Court of 

Common Pleas of Erie County, Pa. 

The petition of the "Erie Cemetery," by Geo. W. Starr, 
William Spencer, D. S. Qark, John Eliot, William Himrod, 
George P. Colt and Chas. C. Shirk, managers, respectfully repre- 
sents: That the said "Erie Cemetery'' is a corporation not for 
profit within the first class of corporations named in the Act of 
April 29, 1874, entitled An Act to provide for the incorporation 
of certain corporations" and its supplements; 

That it was incorporated by an Act of Assembly, approved 
April 29, 1850, P. L. 445, and its supplements; 

That in pursuance of the provisions of the forty-second sec- 
tion of the Act of April 2y, 1874, as amended by the twelfth sec- 
tion of the Act of April 12, 1876, P. L. 37, it is desirous of 
altering and amending its said charter of incorporation by adding 
thereto the following: 




o 



ERIE CEMETERY. 107 



"The Managers of the said corporation are hereby author- 
ized to invest the money of the said corporation in United States 
Government Bonds, State of Pennsylvania Bonds, Municipal and 
School Bonds of the City of Erie, in addition to the mortgage 
securities already provided for;" and also by altering the first 
section of the Act of February 2y, 1863, P. L. 79, so that it will 
read as follows : "The annual meeting of the corporators of the 
'Erie Cemetery' shall hereafter be held on the second Tuesday of 
May in each and every year." 

That a regular annual meeting of the corporators of the said 
corporation held at its office in the City of Erie, Pa., on the first 
Tuesday of May, 1898, being the 3d day of May, 1898, the fol- 
lowing resolutions were adopted : 

"Resolved : That the Managers are authorized to procure an 
amendment to the Charter of this Corporation, permitting them 
to invest the money of the corporation in United States Govern- 
ment Bonds, State of Pennsylvania Bonds, Municipal and 
School Bonds of the City of Erie, in addition to the mortgage 
securities already provided for." 

"Resolved: That the Managers are directed to procure an 
amendment to the Charter of this Corporation providing that the 
annual meeting of the corporators be held on the second Tuesday 
of May, in each year, instead of the first Tuesday of May." 

Your petitioner therefore respectfully prays the Court to 
order and decree that the amendments above specified be ap- 
proved and made a part of the Charter of the said "Erie 
Cemetery.'' 

In witness whereof, the corporate seal of the said Cor- 
poration has been hereunto affixed, this 8th day of August, A. D. 
1898. GEO. W. STARR, 

Attest: P. A. HIMROD, President. 

Secretary. 

JOHN ELIOT, 
D. S. CLARK, 
(Seal) GEO. P. COLT, 



WM, HIMROD, 
CHARLES C. SHIRK, 
WILLIAM SPENCER, 

Managers. 



108 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Erie County, ss. 

George \V. Starr, being duly sworn, says that he is one of 
the Corporators of the Erie Cemetery, and President of Board of 
Managers of the said Corporation , that the facts set forth in the 
foregoing petition are true to the best of his knowledge and 
belief; that the seal affixed to the said petition is the common seal 
of the said corporation. 

GEO. W. STARR. 
Sworn and subscribed before me this 8th day of August. 
A. D. 1898. 

H. A. STRONG, 

Notary Public. 

And now August 8th, 1898, the above and foregoing petition 
having been presented in open court, and it appearing to the 
Court that the alterations and amendments as prayed for are law- 
ful and beneficial, and not in conflict with the Constitution or 
laws of this Commonwealth, it is ordered that notice of the said 
application be given by publication in the "Erie Weekly Gazette" 
and the "Erie Weekly Herald" for three weeks, in accordance 
with the Acts of Assembly in such cases made and provided, that 
said application will be granted on the Sth day of September, 
1898, at II o'clock A. M., unless cause be shown to the contrary. 

Per Curiam, 
Signed EMORY A. WALLING, P. J. 

And, now, September 5th, 1898, it appearing to the Court 
that notice of the above and foregoing application has been duly 
published in compliance with the order of this Court, and no 
cause having been shown to the contrary, it is ordered and de- 
creed that upon recording of the said petition and Order of 
Court, the said amendments, alterations and improvements shall 
be deemed and taken to be a part of the Charter of the said "Erie 
Cemetery." 

Per Curiam, 
EMORY A. WALLING, P. J. 
From the Record. 

Witness my hand and seal of said Court at Erie, Pa., this 
5th day of September, 1898. 

E. K. NASON, 

Prothonotary. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 109 



LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

RELATING TO CEMETERIES OR BURIAL GROUNDS. 



AN ACT 

TO PREVENT THE OPENING OF STREETS FOR PUBLIC ROADS 

THROUGH THE BURIAI. GROUNDS, AND FOR THE 

PROTECTION OF CEMETERIES AND 

GRAVE YARDS. 

Approved April 5, 1849. I^- L. 397. 

Section i. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Rep- 
resentatives of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in General 
Assembly m.et, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the 
same, That hereafter it shall not be lawful to open any street, 
lane or public road through any burial ground or cemetery with- 
in this Commonwealth, any laws heretofore passed to the con- 
trary notwithstanding: Provided, That this section shall not ex- 
tend to the City and County of Philadelphia. 



AN ACT 



TO PREVENT THE VIOLATING OF GRAVE YARDS, OR FOR WIL- 
FULLY INJURING THE SAME, OR FOR HUNTING THEREIN. 

Approved May 7, 1855. ^' L. 462. 

Section i. If any person shall open any tomb or grave in 
any cemetery, grave yard, or any grounds set apart for burial 
purposes, either private or public, held by individuals for their 
own use or in trust for others, or for any church or institution, 
whether incorporated or not, without the consent of the owners 



no BRIE CEMETERY. 



or trustees of such grounds, and clandestinely or unlawfully 
remove, or attempt to remove, any human body, or part thereof, 
therefrom, such person, upon conviction thereof, shall be sen- 
tenced to undergo an imprisonment in the county jail or peniten- 
tiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than three years, 
and pay a fine of not less than one hundred dollars, at the dis- 
cretion of the court of the proper county; and any person v^ho 
shall wilfully destroy, mutilate, deface, injure or remove any 
tomb, monument, gravestone or other structure, placed in any 
grounds aforesaid, or any fence, or railing or other work for the 
protection or ornament of said grounds, or of any tomb, monu- 
ment, gravestone or other structure placed therein as aforesaid; 
or shall wilfully destroy, cut, break or remove any tree, shrub or 
plant, within the limits of such grounds; or hunt any game 
within said limits, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and 
shall, upon conviction thereof, before any Justice of the Peace, 
be punished by a fine, at the discretion of the Justice, of not less 
than five nor more than fiftv dollars. 



PENAL CODE. 

Forty-seventh Section, Approved March 31, i860. P. L. 395. 

Any person who shall wilfully and maliciously destroy, 
mutilate, deface, injure or remove any tomb, monument, grave- 
stone or other edifice placed in any cemetery or grave yard, ap- 
propriated to and used for the interment of human beings, in 
this Commonwealth; or shall wilfully and maliciously injure, 
destroy or remove any fence, railing, or other work for the pro- 
tection or ornament of such places of interment ; or shall wilfully 
open any tomb, vault or grave within the same, and clandestinely 
remove any body or remains therefrom; or maliciously destroy 
any tree or shrubbery growing in such cemetery or grave yard, 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction of either of 
said offences, be sentenced to undergo an imprisonment not ex- 
ceeding one year, or to pay a fine not exceeding one hundred 
dollars, or both or either, at the discretion of the court. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



Ill 



SUPPLEMENT TO PENAL CODE. 

Approved May 19, 1879. P- L. 64. 

Section i. That any person or persons who shall wilfully 
and maliciously destroy, mutilate, injure, pluck off, deface or re- 
move therefrom any tree or trees, vines, flowers, grass or orna- 
mental shrubbery growing, being or temporarily placed therein, 
for ornamental or useful purposes, in any Cemetery or grave- 
yard in this Commonwealth, used for the interment of human 
beings, or shall wilfully trespass in and upon private inclosures in 
any Cemetery or graveyard aforesaid, shall be guilty of a misde- 
meanor, and on conviction of any said offences, be sentenced to 
undergo an imprisonment not exceeding one year or to pay, a 
fine of not exceeding one hundred dollars, or both or either, at 
the discretion of the court. 



^JiNJf^d^^^ 




$ 


^^^^^^^^HhLi , 



112 ERIE CEMETERY. 



BY-LAWS. 

Approved October 14, 1897. 

Section i. The officers of the corporation shall be a Presi- 
dent, Secretary, Treasurer and Superintendent. 

Section 2. A monthly meeting of the Board of Managers 
shall be held at such time and place as they by resolution shall 
direct; and special meetings may be called by the President, at 
his discretion, or by the Secretar>', on the written request of two 
members of the Board of Managers. 

Section 3. The Secretary shall keep a full and accurate 
record of the proceedings of the Board of Managers. 

He shall keep a correct register of all lots in the Cemetery, 
showing their dimension, area, price; whether sold or unsold; if 
sold, to whom, when and at what price, adding thereto all addi- 
tions as made from time to time, and if they are transferred, shall 
enter all details connected therewith. 

He only shall make sales of lots and receive the money for 
the payment of the same, issuing a certificate of ownership on 
blanks approved by the Board of Managers for that purpose. 

The Secretary shall issue burial permits only on receipt of 
the proper permit from the Health Officer of the City of Erie 
and the prescribed charges, and shall keep a careful register of 
all removals; also of all interments, showing the name, place of 
nativity, residence, date of birth and death of the deceased, the 
disease of which he or she died, the names of the parents of the 
deceased, the section and number of lot where buried and kind of 
grave. He shall give notice of all meetings of the Board of 
Managers and cause to be published all notices of meetings of 
the corporation according to the provisions of the Charter and 
these By-laws He shall pay over to the Treasurer of the Erie 
Cemetery all money he may have belonging to said corporation 
at least once each week At each annual meeting of the Cor- 
porators, (and oftener if required by the Board of Managers,) he 
shall furnish a schedule of lots, showing the number unsold at 



ERIE CEMETERY. 113 



last report, the number added during the year past, the number 
sold and the number then unsold, with all the details as shown by 
said record, including statement of the amount of money re- 
ceived, account of sales of said lots, and detailed statement of all 
interments, together with an account of the moneys received for 
said interments. 

He shall have the custody of all the aforesaid records, the 
title deed of the property, the seal of the corporation, and all 
other books and papers belonging to the corporation, except the 
securities, evidences of debt and account books of the Treasurer 
and Superintendent. 

Section 4. The Treasurer shall receive and be held re- 
sponsible for all moneys and all securities and evidences of debt 
due the corporation which shall come into his hands, of which 
he shall keep a detailed and accurate account, designating 
whether arising from sale of lots, permits, bequests, interest or 
other sources, in the books of the corporation, of which he shall 
have the custody, subject, however, at all times to the inspection 
of the Managers ; and shall pay all claims upon the corporation, 
but only upon the warrant of the President attested by the 
Secretary. 

He shall render to the Managers annually, (and oftener if 
they require it,) a general statement of the finances of the cor- 
poration, to be exhibited at the annual meeting of the Corpor- 
ators, showing the balance on hand at the last report, the receipts 
and the expenditures during the past year, and the balance then 
in the treasury, and how invested and secured. 

Section 5. The Superintendent shall reside on the premises 
and have charge of all interments, and shall give directions as to 
the opening and closing of graves, and shall have the general con- 
trol, under the Board of Managers, of the improvement of the 
grounds. 

Lot holders who may wish to make any improvements or 
alterations of any kind on their lots, or to have their boundaries 
more fully defined, must first apply to the Superintendent, who 
must be present, and whose directions they will conform to on 
these occasions, as well as in the erection of other improvements. 



114 ERIE CEMETERY. 



The Superintendent shall keep a map of the Cemetery 
grounds, showing the driveways, walks and lots, with their 
numbers, and shall cause their boundaries to be preserved, and 
shall, also, have charge of and keep an account of the property, 
tools and implements of the corporation which belong on the 
grounds, and shall see that the regulations of the Board of Man- 
agers concerning the proprietors of lots, interments, use of vault 
and chapel, visitors, etc., are properly observed, and shall enforce 
the rules and regulations generally and maintain decorum in the 
Cemetery on all occasions. 

The Superintendent shall collect all charges for sprinkling 
lots, and for all work done on them by request of the owners, and 
shall pay over to the Treasurer of the Erie Cemetery all money 
belonging to said corporation at least once each week.. 

The Superintendent shall also keep an accurate "Time 
Book'' which shall set forth the name of each workman em- 
ployed, the time each workman makes daily, and the kind of 
labor at which he is employed ; and shall make a monthly report 
to the Board of Managers, stating the amount of work done and 
its condition, the receipts and disbursements, and also, an esti- 
mate for the coming month. And no interment shall be made 
without a permit as provided for in Section 3 of these By-Laws. 

Section 6. The Secretary, Treasurer and Superintendent, 
and such other officers and agents as the Board of Managers 
may direct, shall give bonds satisfactory to said Board of Man- 
agers for the faithful performance of their respective duties, and 
the delivery to their successors, or to the Board of Managers, of 
all property of the corporation in their hands when required. 

Section 7. All resolutions offered, for adoption at the meet- 
ing of the Board of Managers shall be reduced to writing, and 
the yeas and nays shall be recorded on the demand of any 
member. 

Section 8. All officers, agents and servants of the corpora- 
tion shall be appointed for such periods as may suit the Board of 
Managers; and said Board of Managers are hereby given full 
power to dismiss any or all of them whenever the interests of the 
corporation shall demand. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



115 



Section 9. The annual meeting of the corporation shall be 
held at the office of the Secretary, (or at such other place, and at 
such hour as may be designated by the Board of Managers,) on 
the second Tuesday in May, of which three weeks notice shall be 
given in two newspapers published in the City of Erie, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

A meeting of the Corporators may be called for any purpose 
by the President of the Board of Managers on the written request 
of any five corporators; on a written notice of one week, stating 
its purpose, to be given by the Secretary personally to each Cor- 
porator or by mail addressed to his last known place of residence. 




116 ERIE CEMETERY. 



RULES AND REGULATIONS. 



LOTS. 

I. No gound in the Cemetery shall be sold until it shall 
have been surveyed and platted, and the plat or plats have been 
approved by the Board of Managers 

2 The grade of all avenues, walks and lots shall be estab- 
lished by the Board of Managers. 

3. No lots shall be sold except for cash paid at the full 
prices fixed by the Board of Managers. 



IMPROVEMENT OF LOTS. 

1. The comers of all lots shall be marked only by the 
Board of Managers, and setting of comer posts by lot owners 
will not be permitted. 

2. Enclosures around lots will not be allowed, nor the plac- 
ing thereupon of any thing objectionable or prejudicial to the 
general appearance of the Cemetery. 

3. Proprietors of lots have the right to erect any proper 
headstone, monument or memorial thereon, subject, however, to 
the rules and regulations of the Erie Cemetery; but no tree grow- 
ing within any lot shall be cut down, removed or destroyed, 
without the consent of the Board of Managers. 

4. Trees or shrubs shall not be planted upon any lot with- 
out obtaining consent of the Superintendent; but silver leaf 
poplar and locust trees, lilac and syringa bushes, and shrubbery 
of this class will not be allowed under any circumstances. Jif 
any tree or shrub, however, should become detrimental to a lot 
or adjoining lots it shall be the duty of the Managers to remove 
the same. 

5. Monuments of any material requiring painting are pro- 
hibited. Wooden or iron headboards, wooden trellises and large 



ERIE CEMETERY. HJ 



vases or urns other than of stone, marble or durable metal, are 
also prohibited. 

6. All vaults, monuments, statuary or other memorials 
erected in the Cemetery, must be of real stone, marble or bronze, 
and be set under the supervision of the Superintendent according 
to the plans as approved by the Managers. 

7. To protect the grounds from injury by the introduction 
of irresponsible workmen, to insure good work, and especially 
to improve lots, the Board of Managers reserves the right to 
construct all foundations for all monuments or other superstruc- 
tures; and to have all excavations, digging of graves, and the 
grading and sodding of lots; performed by their own workmen. 

The above-mentioned work will not be permitted to be done 
by others under any circumstances, and proper time must be 
allowed in which to do it. All such foundations must be built of 
solid stone masonry or concrete, and must not be less than five 
feet in depth leveled with the surface of the ground. Plans 
showing the size and material of all large monuments or super- 
structures, and others if requested, must accompany all written 
orders for the foundations in order that the proper sizes and 
prices of such foundations may be determined. 

8. All workmen employed by individual lot owners in the 
construction of vaults, erection of monuments, etc., or for any 
purpose upon their lots, shall be subject to the entire control of 
the Superintendent of the Erie Cemetery, and faiUng to comply 
with this regulation, will not be permitted to work within the 
grounds. All earth, material, rubbish, etc., accumulated on a 
lot or lots by the owners thereof or their agent or agents, must 
be carefully removed by them from the grounds as soon as re- 
quested by the Superintendent, or placed on the grounds as said 
Superintendent may direct. 

9. No heavy teaming will be allowed in the Cemetery in 
wet weather. No stone work shall be brought into the Ceme- 
tery on Saturday after 12 o'clock M., and no work shall be com- 
menced on that day that cannot be finished and the dirt and 
debris entirely removed before the hour of closing the gates. 



118 BRIE CEMETERY. 



10. Teams used in hauling material in or out of the 
grounds will not be allowed to pass through the main entrance 
to the Cemetery. 

11. The soliciting of contracts or orders for monuments, 
headstones, memorials, or any other work, will not be allowed in 
the Cemetery. 



FOR PROPRIETORS OF LOTS. 

1. Lot owners are expressly prohibited from selling or 
transferring their lots to other parties without first obtaining 
consent of the Board of Managers thereto in writing, and paying 
to the **ten per cent fund" ten per cent of the original price paid 
for the lot or lots so transferred. No sign indicating that a lot, 
or any improvement thereon is "For Sale" will be permitted. 

2. A lot owner may reconvey his lot to the Erie Cemetery 
in trust, nevertheless, inalienably, and specify who only are to be 
interred thereon. 

3. No private lot shall be used for the interment of any 
person other than the family of the lot owner unless special per- 
mission shall have been first obtained from the Board of Man- 
agers on the written request of the lot owner, and then only on 
the condition that no remuneration shall be paid the lot owner 
for such privilege. 

4. No remains will be interred, or deposited in a tomb or 
the Receiving Vault, except upon the written order of the 
Secretary. 

5. All disinterments must be made by the Superintendent 
on the written order of the President or Secretary; provided no 
removals from one grave to another in the grounds shall be made 
between May ist and November ist. 



ERIE CEMETERY. HQ 



INTERMENTS. 

I. Whenever interments are to be made, twenty-four hours 
written notice must be given to the Superintendent. All graves 
shall be opened and closed by employes of the Erie Cemetery; 
They shall be at least five feet in depth and without mound. 
And only one interment will be allowed in any grave except in 
cases of a mother and infant child, or twin children, or two 
children buried at the same time. 



USE OF MORTUARY CHAPEL AND RECEIVING 

VAULT. 

1. The remains of persons having died of any infectious or 
contagious disease will not be received. 

2. Each coffin must be enclosed in a tight wooden box with 
a strong handle securely fastened to one end. 

3. The permit must be numbered and the same number 
attached to the wooden box enclosing the coffin and a registry of 
the same made by the Superintendent. No removal shall be 
made without written permit from the Secretary. 

4. The Erie Cemetery reserves the right in the event of 
any body deposited in the receiving vault becoming offensive to 
inter it immediately and without notice. 

5. The Erie Cemetery also reserves the right to refuse the 
depositing of any body or bodies in the receiving vault. 



LOT OWNERS AND VISITORS. 

All adult persons may have access to the Cemetery grounds 
from sunrise till sunset on all week days. 

1. No rapid riding or driving — bicycles included — nor rid- 
ing nor driving on the grass, will be allowed. 

2. Improper persons, and those known to have wantonly 
violated any of the rules or regulations of the Erie Cemetery, will 
not be permitted to enter the grounds. 



120 ERIE CEMETERY. 



3. No persons with refreshments will be admitted, nor will 
smoking be allowed. 

4. No persons with firearms or dogs will be admitted. 

5. Horses must not be left without a driver unless securely 
fastened, and must not be hitched to trees. 

6. No money shall be demanded by any attendant of the 
gate or grounds from any one. 

7. Children will not be admitted unless accompanied by 
proper persons to take care of them and be responsible for their 
conduct. 

8. All persons are prohibited from plucking flowers, either 
wild or cultivated, or breaking or injuring any tree, shrub or 
plant, or entering upon any individual's lot without leave of the 
owner. 

9. All persons are prohibited from writing upon, defacing 
or injuring any monument, headstone or other structure. 

10. Any person disturbing the quiet or good order of the 
place by noise or other improper conduct, or who shall violate 
any of the rules and regulations, will be compelled instantly to 
leave the grounds. 

11. No person will be allowed to make a sketch or picture 
of any building, monument or improvement of any kind or de- 
scription, in the grounds of the Erie Cemetery without first ob- 
taining the written consent of the owners and of the Board of 
Managers. 

12. It shall not be lawful for any person to enter or leave 
the Cemetery grounds otherwise than by a common gateway. 

13. All persons visiting the Cemetery shall be required to 
give their names when called for by the Superintendent. 

14. No persons will be admitted on Sunday excepting lot 
owners and members of their households and persons accom- 
panying them. Passes must be shown if requested. 

15. All well disposed persons will confer a favor on the 
Board of Managers by informing the Superintendent of any 
breach of these rules that may come under their notice. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 121 



CONTRACTORS. 

1. All information as to grades, boundary lines, dimensions 
of lots, location of graves, etc., must be obtained from the Super- 
intendent before beginning work on any lot. 

2. The contractor and all his employes engaged in any 
work in the Cemetery, during the progress of the work shall be 
under the direct control of the Superintendent. 

3. Guy ropes must not be fastened to any tree or perma- 
nent improvement in the grounds; and in moving material for 
improvements onto lots, adjoining lots must not be tresspassed 
upon, and when trees and shrubbery are in the way, notice must 
be given at once to the Superintendent who will give instruction 
in the case. 

4. Planks are required to be laid on all places over which 
heavy material is to be moved in order to avoid injury. Ob- 
structions to driveways and paths attending improvements of all 
kinds and descriptions must be reduced to a minimum; and no 
unnecessary delay will be permitted after work has been com- 
menced. 

5. All surplus materials, tools, rubbish, etc., must be re- 
moved on completion of the work, or when directed by the 
Superintendent. 

6. No advertisement in any form will be allowed on any 
work in the Cemetery grounds. 

7. No new stone or monumental work shall be begun 
within three days of Decoration Day, and all rubbish must be 
removed and material and tools placed to the satisfaction of the 
Superintendent twenty- four hours before said day. 

Also see Rules and Regulations under "Improvement of 
Lots." 



CONCLUSION. 

For the purpose of keeping lots in repair, and the preserva- 
tion and renewal of any tomb, monument, gravestone, railing, or 
the improvement of lots in any way, the Managers shall receive 
from any lot owner or friend of the same, any sum of money, 



122 ERIE CEMETERY. 



(not less than fifty dollars,) and either invest the same in some 
permanent fund, or pay interest for the same at the rate of six 
per cent, which said interest shall be expended for the purposes 
above mentioned. 

Should any person by will make provision for the preserva- 
tion of his or her lot or lots or improvements as above indicated, 
the following is given as the proper form in which to make such 
bequest : 

"I hereby give and bequeath to the Erie Cemetery the sum 

of dollars, to have and to hold the same to the said 

Erie Cemetery and their successors, upon trust, however, to keep 
the same invested, or to allow interest thereon at the rate of six 
per cent per annum, and to apply the income thus arising there- 
from, under the direction of the Board of Managers, to the re;- 
pair, preservation or renewal of any tomb, monument or grave- 
stone, railing or other erection, or for planting and cultivating 

trees, shrubs, flowers or plants, upon, in or about Lot No 

in Section in the Cemetery grounds of the said corpora- 
tion, and to apply the surplus of such income, if any, to the im- 
provement of the said Cemetery grounds; Provided, however, 
That the said Managers shall never be responsible for their con- 
duct in discharge of such trust, except for good faith and such 
reasonable diligence as may be required of mere gratuitous 
agents; And provided, further, That the said Managers shall in 
no case be obliged to make any separate investment of the sum 
so given, and that the average income derived from all funds of 
the like nature belonging to the corporation, shall be divided an- 
nually and carried proportionately to the credit of each lot 
entitled thereto." 



AMENDMENTS. 

Amendments to the By-Laws may be proposed in writing at 
any meeting of the Corporators. They shall be entered at 
length upon the minutes, and a copy of same shall be served 
upon each Corporator personally or by mail directed to his last 
known place of residence. 

Action on said proposed amendments may be taken at a 
future meeting of Corporators to be called not less than 30 days 



-^H 



ERIE CEMETERY. 123 



after date of offering same and one week's notice of said meeting 
and the purpose thereof, shall be given to each Corporator by the 
Secretary. When two or more amendments shall be submitted 
they shall be voted upon separately, and an affirmative vote of a 
majority of the Corporators present at said meeting shall be re- 
quired for their adoption. 



PRICES. 
Single grave lots will only be sold for immediate use. 



SINGLE GRAVES. 

Brick. 

Under i year, ground included $ 6.00 $16.00 

Between i and 10 years of age, ground included 8.00 18.00 

Over 10 years, ground included 12.00 20.00 



FAMILY LOTS. 

10 years old and under, plain $ 4.00 

'' " " " " 4 inch brick wall 8.00 

" " '' '' *' 8 inch brick wall 12.00 

" " " " '' Slate 18.00 

Over 10 years, plain 5.00 

" ** ** 4 inch brick wall 12.00 

8 inch brick wall 16.00 

" Slate 25.00 



VAULT. 

10 years old and under $15.00 

Over 10 years 20.00 

At the expiration of the month unless continuance is pro- 
vided for the body will be buried in common single grave lot; 
provided, that if the interested parties own a lot, then the body 
will be buried there in a 4 inch brick grave. Provided further, 
that parties removing a body from Vault for burial elsewhere 



124 ERIE CEMETERY. 



than in this Cemetery will have refunded $5.00 for "10 years old 
and under" and $10.00 for "over 10 years." 

Each additional month's use of Vault $5.00 

Use of Chapel 3.00 

Opening private Vault 5.00 

Extra charge for Sunday Funerals 5.00 



FOUNDATIONS. 

Vaults, Monuments, Headstones, Etc. 

Nothing less than $2.00 

20 cubic feet or less 35 cents per cubic foot 

Over 20 cubic feet 25 cents per cubic foot 

All work of this kind must be paid for in advance, when the 
order is given, by the party having the contract for the im- 
provement. 





VIEW IN SECTION 2. 



ERIE CEMETERY 

ORGANIZATION SINCE BEGINNING 



128 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



>- 

H 

U 

S 

u 

u 
u 

O 

H 

< 

O 
cu 
oc 
O 
u 



O 



CO 

I 



a 



8^ 



a 



CO 

c3_a 

00 t^ 

00 00 






a; 



O 



• a; 



-a 






I 






a 



CO 

M 












00 00 t^ 
On O^ On 
00 00 00 



ONOO •-« O 
00 ON Q t^ 
ONOO 



•H c^ On On On 

00 in ONOO 

00 00 00 00 



ONC 



cOcO'<*-t^eO'<*-cO'<*-w O ONt^ 









o0cdoScdo0Cc4o8 



tn n !-• 
0^ S cd 

Kg CO 



: a 

si 

a kJ 



cd : 









S 
a 
> 

cd 

Q 



05 



ON 
00 



cd 



S .S Q 5 ,«« go w 



t^ t^ r> 

00 00 00 



lOOO »o 

00 00 00 



ONOO 
00 00 



00 vO 

00 00 



•1 ON N 

VO r>vo 

00 00 00 



, d O 6 f" ^'K 

' H- >h- >>— >MH vJ > 



OS lO lO t^ »ooo t^oo 

0000000000000000 



aicdcjacdCcdcdoinacddcdCaoSdcdcdcd 






0<5 



^1 

^ Co 

?1^ 



a V 



c : 

dW'3BcjO(S|| 



1 

Is 



to -M 

1) o 












2 

gco 



WW» 



(0 

o 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



129 



be 
a 
o 

cd '^ rt 



t^ ON ON 
00 00 00 



cd rt 

S2 



S 



1^ 









ON 
00 



S 



«2 

to a 
^ . s 



bo v; 
o . 



S. o 

00 ON 



fO CO 






IH ►^ O 

ON ON 00 
00 00 00 



M 00 fO 
O "^00 

ONOO 00 



»0 »0 tJ- fO iH M 



rt ej oj P CO 



to g 



o <u S 

s a 8 



O w 
O 00 

00 00 



lo t^ o 

00 l^ On 
00 00 00 



. V ^ VI 

s^ . > 



lO »o t^ M 

VO »0 ON »o 
00 00 00 00 



Q^c^ io»-«vo w '<*-'i'W 



P Gd 00 08 C3 CQ M 






*i : a : 

.SfS g § «, 

5S« S-^ 



^- rt; 



ays 



^^«i>J«i| 



O 



Or= 



P rP 



^ CJ ^ « (i^ dl aj 






e 



! 



00 
00 



VO 



V 

rP 

be 
P 
cd 
O 






180 ERIE CRMETBRT. 



MANAGERS ERIE CEMETERY. 



Elected : 
May 24, 1850— C. M. Reed, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, A. W. Brewster, J. Galbraith, E. Babbitt. 

Jan. 13, 185 1— C. M. Reed, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, A. W. Brewster, J. Galbraith, E. Babbitt. 

Jan. 12, 1852— C. M. Reed, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, W m. A. Brown, J. Galbraith. E. Babbitt. 

Jan. 10, 1853 — C. M. Reed, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, Wm. A. Brown, J. Galbraith. E. Babbitt. 

Jan. 9, 1854— H. Cadwell, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, Wm. A. Brown, F. Schneider, E. Babbitt. 

Jan. 8, 1855— J. C. Marshall, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, Wm. A. Brown, F. Schneider, E. Babbitt. 

Jan. 14, 1856— J. C. Marshall, C. M. Reed, Wm. Himrod, H. 
Cadwell, C. M. Tibbals, J. Galbraith, P. Arbuckle. 

Jan. 12, 1857 — J. C. Marshall, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, Wm. A. Brown, I. Camp, E. Babbitt. 

Jan. II, 1858— J. C. Marshall, G. A. EHott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, Wm. A. Brown, I. Camp, C. M. Reed. 

Jan. 10, 1859 — Wilson King, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Wm. 
Kelly, Wm. A. Brown, I. Camp, C. M. Reed. 

Jan. 9, i860— Wilson King, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Jos M. 
Sterrett, Wm. A. Brown, I. Camp, C. M. Reed. 

Jan. 14, 1861— Wilson King, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Jos. M. 
Sterrett, Wm. A. Brown, I. Camp, C. M. Reed. 

Jan. 13, 1862— J. C. Marshall, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Jos. M. 
Sterrett, Wm. A. Brown, Wm. C. Warren, C M. Reed. 

Jan. 12, 1863— J. C. Marshall, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Jos. M. 
Sterrett, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 131 



Elected : 
May 3, 1864— J. C. Marshall, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, Jos. M. 
Sterrett, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May 2, 1865 — ^James Skinner, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May I, 1866 — ^James Skinner, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May 7, 1867 — ^James Skinner, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May 5, 1868 — ^James Skinner, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May 4, 1869 — ^James Skinner, G. A. Eliott, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May 3, 1870 — ^James Skinner, B. B. Vincent, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Recc\ 

May I, 1871 —James Skinner, B. B. Vincent, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, C. M. Reed. 

May 7, 1872 — James Skinner, B. B. Vincent, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. \V. 
Starr. 

May 6, 1873 — ^James Skinner, B. B. Vincent, Wm. Himrod, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. 
Starr. 

May 5, 1874 — James Skinner, B. B. Vincent, John A. Tracy, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. 
Starr. 

May 4, 1875 — ^James Skinner, B. B. Vincent, C. M. Tibbals, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. V/. 
Starr. 

May 2, 1876 — James Skinner, B B. Vincent, C. M. Tibbals, John 
C. Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. 
Starr. 

May I, 1877 — ^James Skinner, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, John C. 
Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 



132 ERIK CEMETERY. 



Elected: 
May 7, 1878 — ^James Skinner, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden. \Vm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 6. 1879— C M. Reed, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 4, 1880— C. M. Reed, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 3, 1881— C. M. Reed, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 2, 1882— C. M. Reed, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May I, 1883— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark. John C. 
Selden, Wm. A. Brown, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 6, 1884— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, John C. 
Selden, C. C. Shirk, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 5, 1885— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, John C. 
Selden, C. C. Shirk, J. C. Spencer, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 4, 1886— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 3, 1887— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May I, 1888— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, John C. 
Selden, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 7, 1889— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 6, 1890— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 5, 1891— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 3, 1892— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 2, 1893— Geo. P. Colt. John Eliot, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 133 



Elected: 
May I, 1894— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, William 
wSpencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 7, 1895— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 5, 1896— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 4, 1897— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 3, 1898— Geo. P. Colt, John Eliot, D. S. Qark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

Oct. 3, 1898— M. Griswold. 

May 9, 1899— Geo. P. Colt, M. Griswold, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 8, 1900 — Geo. P. Colt, M. Griswold, D. S. Qark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 14, 1901 — Geo. P. Colt, M. Griswold, D. S. Clark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, Geo. W. Starr. 

May 2, 1902 — F. Gunnison. 

May 13,1902— Geo. P. Colt, M. Griswold, D. S. Qark, William 
Spencer, C. C. Shirk, Wm. Himrod, F. Gunnison. 

June 4, 1902 — L. M. Little. 



134 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



z 

o 

p 

< 

N 

z 

< ■ 
o 

O 

s 

o 

OS 

OS 

H i 

s ;- 

u i 
S i 

O 'I 
u ; 

O 



u 
p^ 

D 

< 
W 
P< 
H 



< 

U 

P^ 

o 

CO 



Q 

C/3 

Pu. 



4> O 



u u u u 

O O 4^ O 

u u u u 



•a -a -a 

add 

0^ O 4> . . 

£ o o o bi *i ii u! ij *^ 

U J JU'JU^' o o oQCJ£ d dWWQ 
^ -jcj=jc . .-.roa; . . . 



. JC J= JC . .. 




o o 
c c 





c 
c 




c 

•4-' 


I* 
(1 


n 




ti 







•O "O T? 
nl cd cd 
o o a> 

•C JC J 
l-i u« u 



rt rt 



EUuuuUc/5 o o oQQ p d pWWQQ d^K 



.2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 -rt .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 .2 2 2 
6 6 6 6 6 6 ^ d d d d d d d d d d d d d d d 

ocoooouooooooooooooooo 



00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 



ly 



i^ '^ ^f oT ^ XJ ^ ^"vd' t^vd" ^ ^ tF d" I:; £? ro "^^ :f ^" "^ 



rt d 






|> >% >^ >^ ( 






ERIE CEMETERY. 



135 



.2 .2 .2 

WWW 

c c c 
^ ^ ^ 
o c o 



u 
o 

it 

w,^ 



o 



biDb)3biob£bbbiobi}b]obbbJDb)sbX)biDbiobbb]ob^ 

CCCCCCacpCGCCCGCGCGCC 
- r^ rV^ rT f r^ ri^ r/^ r T f /^ r/^ rn m T r\ m m m m xn xh xr\ fD xn I 






Uh Ui Uh Ul 



_r -ccTs; 



< ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ Oh' hI,' Ph Plh* Oh' Oh' Ph' pL,' pL,* Ph* pL,* dn' hC CL,* CL,* CL p^ ^ ^ 



UUUUUuUucJUUUUuUUcJucj o o o o o o o 

)000000 







136 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



c 

e 
o 

U 



z. 

o 

p 

< 

N 

z 

< 
o 

flti 
O 

% 

o 

tt) 

H 

u 

s 

PU 

o 
y 

PU 
PU 

O 



p^ 

CO 

-< 

u 

H 



< 

H 

P^ 
O 

u 

CO 



Q 

PL. 



^ 

s 






b£ b£ bic b)c bb b£ bic bic b£ bic t£ 

C C p C C C C C C C S 

mm iTiin mm mir, {TiiTi If, 

h4h4 JhJ hJ J JhJ hJ J J 



OOOOOOOOOOO 

E E.E.E E.S E E E E E 

PLiPhPhPhPhPhPLiPliCLi(:1hCLi 



mmmmmmmmmmu 

6 d d d d d d d d d^ 

OOOOOOOOOOQ 



CO Tt- 10\0 txOO ON t-4 c^ 
lC^Q^C^G^Q^O^Q^Q Q Q 
OOOOOOOOOOOOOO OnOnOn 



01 CO Tt- lO 

On 

00 



CO oT t-T txvd' Tf CO On tF ^ 




- hi . ^ 

2252225 



O ON «-• »0 ON N M 

»OVO t^QO 00 ON ON 

00 00 00 00 00 00 00 



M ^ 






^t-;-^: 






ERIE CEMETERY. 137 



FORMS. 

FORM OF AGREEMENT FOR PERPETUAL CARE. 

[Form of agreement between the Erie Cemetery and parties 
desiring to avail themselves of th^ provisions of the Act of As- 
sembly passed March 2j, 1868, by which the corporation becomes 
obligated to have all lots entered on the endowment list kept 
perpetually in good order.] 

THIS AGREEMENT, made this day of 

A. D, 19 , between of one part, and 

the Board of Managers of the Erie Cemetery, in the County of 
Erie and State of Pennsylvania, of the other part : 

WITNESSETH, that the said has 

deposited with the Erie Cemetery, the sum of 

dollars, in consideration of which the said managers, for them- 
selves and their successors, hereby agree to receive and hold the 
said sum in trust forever, and invest the same with other funds of 
like character, and to apply the income therefrom, from time to 
time, under the direction of the managers for the time being, to 
the repair and preservation of any tomb or monument, or for 

planting or cultivating trees and shrubs, upon or in lot No 

Section in the said Erie Cemetery, and the surplus, if 

any, at the end of each year, to remain as a sinking fund, to be 
applied solely and exclusively to the repair and keeping in order 
said lot No Section 

PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the said managers shall 
never be responsible for their conduct in the discharge of said 
trust, except for good faith and such reasonable diligence as may 
be required of mere gratuitous agents; and provided, further, that 
the said managers shall in no case be obliged to make any separ- 
ate investment of the sum so given, and that the average income 
derived from all funds of the like nature belonging to the corpor- 
ation shall be divided annually, and carried proportionally to the 
credit of each lot entitled thereto. 

In witness whereof, the said hereunto 

set hand, and the said managers of the Erie Cemetery 

have hereunto set their corporate seal, together with the signa- 
tures of their president and secretary, this day of 19. . . 

President. 

Secretarv. 



188 ERIE CEMETERY. 



FORM OF DEED OF TRUST FOR RE-CONVEYANCE 
TO CEMETERY. 

In view of the comparative shortness of Hfe and the insta- 
bility of human aflFairs there is, perhaps, no surer or better 
method by which the owner of a lot can provide for its permanent 
care and ownership than to re-convey it, in trust, to the Erie 
Cemetery, after he has made such improvements as he desires, 
and placed with the company a reasonable sum as an endowment ; 
for the reason that, so far as careful legislation can secure these 
objects, the corporation is endowed with perpetual existence and 
bound faithfully to execute all trusts committed to its charge. 

Another consideration deserves to be taken into account and 
that is the securing of undisturbed interment by lot owners and 
their families by rendering it impossible for their heirs-at-law, 
induced by poverty or cupidity, to remove their bodies and dis- 
pose of the lots. This can be accomplished by the deed of trust, 
a form of which is here submitted : 

THIS INDENTURE, made the day of 

19 between of the County of Erie, 

Pennsylvania, party of the first part, and the Erie Cemetery, a 
corporation in the County and State aforesaid, party of the 
second part: Witnesseth, that the said party of the first part, 
for and in consideration of the sum of one dollar, unto him in 
hand well and truly paid by the said party of the second part, the 
receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged, has and by these pres- 
ents doth sell and convey unto the said Erie Cemetery and its 

successors that certain lot No in Section of 

said Cemetery. To have and to hold said lot in trust, neverthe- 
less, inalienable, and for the interment of and 

for no other interment. 

In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and seal 
this day and vear above written. 

(L.S.) 



ERIE CEMETERY. 139 



FORM OF BEQUEST. 



"I hereby give and bequeath to the Erie Cemetery the sum 

o^ dollars, to have and to hold the same to the said Erie 

Cemetery and their successors, upon trust, however, to keep the 
same invested, or to allow interest thereon at the rate of six per 
cent per annum, and to apply the income thus arising therefrom, 
under the direction of the Board of Managers, to the repair, 
preservation or renewal of any tomb, monument or gravestone, 
railing or other erection, or for planting and cultivating treos„ 

shrubs, flowers or plants, upon, in or about Lot No , in 

Section , in the cemetery grounds of the said corpora- 
tion, and to apply the surplus of such income, if any, to the im- 
provement of the said Cemetery grounds; Provided, however, 
That the said Managers shall never be responsible for their con- 
duct in discharge of such trust, except for good faith and such 
reasonable diligence as may be required of mere gratuitous 
agents ; And provided further, That the said Managers shall in no 
case be obliged to make any separate investment of the sum so 
given, and that the average income derived from all funds of the 
like nature belonging to the corporation, shall be divided an- 
nually and carried proportionately to the credit of each lot en- 
titled thereto." 



HEIRSHIP OF LOTS IN CEMETERY. 

The provisions of the laws of Pennsylvania relating to the 
heirship of lots in the Cemetery are summarized in the following, 
which is presented with the view of providing against disputes or 
annoyance and inconvenience that may arise in the course of a 
few generations from the question of title : 

On the death of the owner of a lot, who dies intestate and 
without having made any disposition of the same by deed or 
otherwise, the lot descends to his heirs-at-law, viz. : 

First. To the children of the intestate. Should any have 
died, their children will inherit the parent's share, and so on, in 
a descending line. 



188 ERIE CEMETERY. 



FORM OF DEED OF TRUST FOR RE-CONVEYANCE 
TO CEMETERY. 

In view of the comparative shortness of life and the insta- 
bility of human affairs there is, perhaps, no surer or better 
method by which the owner of a lot can provide for its permanent 
care and ownership than to re-convey it, in trust, to the Erie 
Cemetery, after he has made such improvements as he desires, 
and placed with the company a reasonable sum as an endowment; 
for the reason that, so far as careful legislation can secure these 
objects, the corporation is endowed with perpetual existence and 
bound faithfully to execute all trusts committed to its charge. 

Another consideration deserves to be taken into account and 
that is the securing of undisturbed interment by lot owners and 
their families by rendering it impossible for their heirs-at-law, 
induced by poverty or cupidity, to remove their bodies and dis- 
pose of the lots. This can be accomplished by the deed of trust, 
a form of which is here submitted : 

THIS INDENTURE, made the day of 

19 between of the County of Erie, 

Pennsylvania, party of the first part, and the Erie Cemetery, a 
corporation in the County and State aforesaid, party of the 
second part: Witnesseth, that the said party of the first part, 
for and in consideration of the sum of one dollar, unto him in 
hand well and truly paid by the said party of the second part, the 
receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged, has and by these pres- 
ents doth sell and convey unto the said Erie Cemetery and its 

successors that certain lot No in Section of 

said Cemetery. To have and to hold said lot in trust, neverthe- 
less, inalienable, and for the interment of and 

for no other interment. 

In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and seal 
this dav and vear above written. 

(L.S.) 



£RIE CEMETERY. 139 



FORM OF BEQUEST. 

**I hereby give and bequeath to the Erie Cemetery the sum 

of dollars, to have and to hold the same to the said Erie 

Cemetery and their successors, upon trust, however, to keep the 
same invested, or to allow interest thereon at the rate of six per 
cent per annum, and to apply the income thus arising therefrom, 
under the direction of the Board of Managers, to the repair, 
preservation or renewal of any tomb, monument or gravestone, 
railing or other erection, or for planting and cultivating treos^ 

shrubs, flowers or plants, upon, in or about Lot Xo , in 

Section in the cemetery grounds of the said corpora- 
tion, and to apply the surplus of such income, if any, to the im- 
provement of the said Cemetery grounds; Provided, however, 
That the said Managers shall never be responsible for their con- 
duct in discharge of such trust, except for gcxxl faith and such 
reasonable diligence as may be required of mere gratuitous 
agents; And provided further, Tliat the said Managers shall in no 
case be obliged to make any separate investment of the sum so 
given, and that the average income derived from all funds of the 
like nature belonging to the corporation, shall be divided an- 
nually and carried proportionately to the credit of each lot en- 
titled thereto/' 



HEIRSHIP OF LOTS IN CEMETERY. 

The provisions of the laws of Pennsylvania relating to the 
heirship of lots in the Cemeter>' are summarized in the following, 
which is presented with the view of providing against disputes or 
annoyance and inconvenience that may arise in the course of a 
few generations from the question of title: 

On the death of the owner of a lot, who dies intestate and 
without having made any disposition of the same by deed or 
otherwise, the lot descends to his heirs-at-law, viz. : 

First. To the children of the intestate. Should any have 
died, their children will inherit the parent's share, a* 
a descending line. 



140 ERIE CEMETERY. 



Second. In default of any such heirs, to the father and 
mother of the intestate, during their joint lives and the life of the 
survivor. 

Third. In default of such heirs, to the brothers and sisters 
of the blood of the intestate, and their descendants. 

Fourth. In default of such heirs, to the father and mother 
of the intestate in fee. 

The heirs-at-law have jointly a right to the disposal and use 
of the lot ; neither of them alone has the right to the disposal of it. 

The wife of the intestate has the same interest in the lot that 
she has in other real estate of the intestate ; but her interest, so far 
as the cemetery is concerned, is nominal; she can neither dispose 
of it, nor order interments to be made therein. 



ERIE CEMETERY. 141 



INDEX. 

Page. 

Biog^raphical Sketches: 

Eliott, George A 73 

Reed, Charles M 74 

Spencer, J. C 77 

Starr, George W «l 

Brewster, A. W 82 

Sill, James 85 

Low, Samuel 89 

Vance, Rev. Joseph 90 

Hay, Henry W 94 

Burial Places of Old Erie 10 

By-Laws of Erie Cemetery 112 

Catholic Burying Ground 14 

Cemetery's Beginning 21 

Charter and Supplements. 

Act of 1850 96 

Supplement of 1851 102 

Supplement of 1853 102 

^Supplement of 1863 103 

Supplement of 1868 103 

Amendment of 1898 104 

Corporators of Erie Cemetery 128 

Episcopal Graveyard 14 

Erie as a Military Post 10 

Erie Cemetery, Historical Sketch 16 

Forms : 

Perpetual Care 138 

Reconveyance to Cemetery 138 

' Bequest ' 139 

French Burial Ground 14 

Heirship of lots 139 



142 ERIE CEMETERY. 

INDEX.— Continued. 

Page. 

Laws Relating to Cemeteries 109 

Managers Erie Cemetery 130 

McLane, Col. J. W., Public Funeral 14 

Military Funerals 11 

Modern Methods 51 

Notable Dead in Erie Cemetery 5S 

Officers Erie Cemetery 134 

Presbyterian Graveyard 14 

Presidents — Deaths Formally Observed 14 

Public Funeral of 1859 11 

Rules and Regulations. 

Relating to Lots 116 

Improvements 116 

For Proprietors of Lots 118 

Interments 119 

Use of Chapel and Vault 119 

Owners and Visitors 119 

Contractors 121 

Fund for Care 121 

Amendments 122 

Scale of Prices 123 

Sell, Capt. J. M., Public Funeral 14 

St. John's (Lutheran) Graveyard 15 

St. Mary's Graveyard 14 

St. Patrick's Cemetery 15 

Superintendents Erie Cemetery 136 

Tour of the Cemetery 24 

U. P. Graveyard 14 

Vincent, Gen. Strong, Public Funeral 14 

War of 1812-13, Burials 11 



8715 012 



'^ ' 



136 



ERIE CEMETERY. 



9 

a 

c 
o 

U 



2 

O 

H 

< 
N 

2 
< 

a 

O 

s 

o 

(Li 

>^" 

H 

S 

U 

S 
O 

C/5 

u 

O 



CO 



1^ 

O 

CO 



H 

Q 
I— I 

CO 






cqccccccccc 

h4 J J J h4 J h4h4 h4 J J 



*0 *0 *0 *^ *0 *0 *C T^ T^ *0 *C 

ooooooooooo 

PL,PL,pL,pL,pL,pL,pL,CL|PL|P^pL| 



ininintAininininimnu 

d d d d d d d d d d^ 

OOOOOOOOOOC 



ro '^ "^vo txqo a\ o •-' ^ 
00000000000000 Onc^cS 



(N ro '^ "^ 

a\ 

00 



ro of ►h" tslvd' '^ rO d\ ^f ^ 



J4 





a 

s 

CO 



■I - 



a 

s 

CO 



c 



0) 

a 

s 

CO 






s 
o 

W 



§ s 



ON M ON ON W 

NO r^oo 00 ON 

00 00 00 00 00 



so Tf 



2.;?; (So 42.^^ 



o o o o o o o 

4^ ^ 4-* 4-* 4-* 4-* 4-> 

O ^ •-«* »o ^ cf ci 

lOVO 1^00 00 ON ON 
00 00 00 00 00 00 GO 



ERIE CEMETERY. 137 



FORMS. 

FORM OF AGREEMENT FOR PERPETUAL CARE. 

[Form of agreement between the Erie Cemetery and parties 
desiring to avail themselves of the provisions of the Act of As- 
sembly passed March 27, 1868, by which the corporation becomes 
obligated to have all lots entered on the endowment list kept 
perpetually in good order.] 

THIS AGREEMENT, made this day of 

A. D, 19 , between of one part, and 

the Board of Managers of the Erie Cemetery, in the County of 
Erie and State of Pennsylvania, of the other part: 

WITNESSETH, that the said has 

deposited with the Erie Cemetery, the sum of 

dollars, in consideration of which the said managers, for them- 
selves and their successors, hereby agree to receive and hold the 
said sum in trust forever, and invest the same with other funds of 
like character, and to apply the income therefrom, from time to 
time, under the direction of the managers for the time being, to 
the repair and preservation of any tomb or monument, or for 

planting or cultivating trees and shrubs, upon or in lot No 

Section in the said Erie Cemetery, and the surplus, if 

any, at the end of each year, to remain as a sinking fund, to be 
applied solely and exclusively to the repair and keeping in order 
said lot No Section 

PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the said managers shall 
never be responsible for their conduct in the discharge of said 
trust, except for good faith and such reasonable diligence as may 
be required of mere gratuitous agents; and provided, further, that 
the said managers shall in no case be obliged to make any separ- 
ate investment of the sum so given, and that the average income 
derived from all funds of the like nature belonging to the corpor- 
ation shall be divided annually, and carried proportionally to the 
credit of each lot entitled thereto. 

In witness whereof, the said hereunto 

set hand, and the said managers of the Erie Cemetery 

have hereunto set their corporate seal, together with the signa- 
tures of their president and secretary, this day of 19. . . 

President. 

Secretarv. 



I 



DATE DUE 




OCMC0 3e-Z« 



ACME 

BOOKBINDING CO., WC. 



DEC oo 1985 

lOOCAMBRlUocbTREET 
CHARLESTOWN. MASS. 



|IMI7f 72 17411 ^^ 




3 2044 026 593 061 



627 

•E72. 

E74x 



MH-SD 



Erie Ceaetery (Association) 

Brie Ceaetery : a hand bookf 
hi a tori calf bioas^aphical and 
descriptivof containins also the 
charter and lawsf rules and 
retfulationsf and other setters o± 
seneral indorsation / written and 
published by authority o± and under 
direction o± the corporators* — — Erlet 
Pa« : Herald Printins and Publishins 
Co«t 1903« 

142 p« : ill«t ports* ; 23 ca« 

Includes Index* 

!• Ceseteries~Law and lesislation — 
Pennsylvania—History— 18th century*, 
2* Ceseteries—Pennsylvanij 
3* Erie Ceset %Ty (Erii 

4* Erie (Pa*) J — Buildlj 
structuresf e ^ tc* I* 
183088 851114 FLLMbi